- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

91% Of The IRS Has Been Furloughed: Here Is Who Else Got The Government Shut Down Axe

Posted By admin On October 2, 2013 @ 4:30 am In U.S. News | Comments Disabled

Zero Hedge [1]
October 2, 2013

For all the drama surrounding today’s political drama (which came and went largely unnoticed by a stock market hypnotized by the Federal Reserve), the bottom line is that the key impact of last night’s historic government shutdown has been nothing more (or less) than the temporary unpaid leave of absence, i.e. furloughs (with all accrued, owed payments promptly being remitted once the government is unhalted) of some 815,932 civilian government workers, out of a total of 2 million, or a 41% furlough rate.

As the WSJ tabulates  [2]“some agencies, such as the Bureau of Labor Statistics, are seeing all but a handful of their employees go home without pay. Others, such as the Federal Bureau of Investigation and the Department of Homeland Security, kept the vast majority of their workers on the job. Certain divisions of government, such as the U.S. Postal Service and the Federal Reserve, don’t operate under the normal appropriations process and their staffing remained unaffected.” Then again one wonders: with 91% of the IRS’ total 94,516 workers stuck at home, downloading porn, is the government shutdown really such an evil outcome?

The table below shows the total number of furloughed workers by government agency, as well as the furlough percentage. For a sortable, interactive version of the table, visit the WSJ [2].

91% Of The IRS Has Been Furloughed: Here Is Who Else Got The Government Shut Down Axe Furloughed%20Workers 0 [3]

Of note: with 98% of the FCC’s 1754 employees stuck at home, there has never been a better time to show a live Janet Jackson dance show, or swear like a sailor on live TV.


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/91-of-the-irs-has-been-furloughed-here-is-who-else-got-the-government-shut-down-axe.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Zero Hedge: http://www.zerohedge.com/news/2013-10-01/91-irs-has-been-furloughed-here-who-else-got-government-shut-down-axe

[2] WSJ tabulates : http://blogs.wsj.com/economics/2013/10/01/which-government-workers-are-affected-by-shutdown/

[3] Image: http://www.zerohedge.com/sites/default/files/images/user5/imageroot/2013/09/Furloughed%20Workers.jpg

[4] Government Has Shut Down 18 Times Since 1976: http://www.prisonplanet.com/government-has-shut-down-18-times-since-1976.html

[5] ‘Government Shut Down’ Won’t Actually Shut Down Government: http://www.prisonplanet.com/government-shut-down-wont-actually-shut-down-government.html

[6] Federal Government Almost Shut Down Over Funding: http://www.prisonplanet.com/federal-government-almost-shut-down-over-funding.html

[7] A Government Shut-down Imperils the Power of Congress: http://www.prisonplanet.com/a-government-shut-down-imperils-the-power-of-congress.html

[8] Government Shutdown 2011? – 16 Things You Need To Know: http://www.prisonplanet.com/government-shutdown-2011-%e2%80%93-16-things-you-need-to-know.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.