- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

After Morsi’s ouster, Egypt’s old guard is back — and Muslim Brotherhood is out

Posted By admin On July 20, 2013 @ 6:24 am In World News | Comments Disabled

Abigail Hauslohner
Washington Post [1]
July 20, 2013

CAIRO — When the military ousted Egypt’s first democratically elected president, Zeinhom Hassan Ibrahim slaughtered a sheep, hired a DJ and threw a block party for his neighbors.

Ibrahim, a former parliamentarian from longtime ruler Hosni Mubarak’s now-defunct National Democratic Party, had lived through the year of Mohamed Morsi’s rule in blinking disbelief, as if the whole world had turned upside down.

But now, things are finally getting back to normal.

Egypt’s new power dynamic, following the July 3 coup that ousted Morsi [2], is eerily familiar. Gone are the Islamist rulers from the once-banned Muslim Brotherhood. Back are the faces of the old guard, many closely linked to Mubarak’s reign or to the all-powerful generals.

And for a seemingly broad array of Egyptians, that’s exactly the way they want it.

Full article here [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/after-morsis-ouster-egypts-old-guard-is-back-and-muslim-brotherhood-is-out.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Washington Post: http://www.washingtonpost.com/world/after-morsis-ouster-egypts-old-guard-is-back--and-muslim-brotherhood-is-out/2013/07/19/28ae563c-efd1-11e2-8c36-0e868255a989_story.html

[2] July 3 coup that ousted Morsi: http://www.washingtonpost.com/world/egypts-morsi-defiant-under-pressure-as-deadline-looms/2013/07/03/28fda81c-e39d-11e2-80eb-3145e2994a55_story.html

[3] Muslim Brotherhood offices torched, Morsi on defensive: http://www.prisonplanet.com/muslim-brotherhood-offices-torched-morsi-on-defensive.html

[4] Christians Attacked in Egypt by Muslim Brotherhood Supporters: http://www.prisonplanet.com/christians-attacked-in-egypt-by-muslim-brotherhood-supporters.html

[5] Obama scrambles to save Morsi after Muslim Brotherhood rejects Egyptian army ultimatum: http://www.prisonplanet.com/obama-scrambles-to-save-morsi-after-muslim-brotherhood-rejects-egyptian-army-ultimatum.html

[6] Al-Qaeda Vows to Rescue Muslim Brotherhood in Egypt: http://www.prisonplanet.com/al-qaeda-vows-to-rescue-muslim-brotherhood-in-egypt.html

[7] Egypt Muslim Brotherhood leader Mohammed Badie arrest ordered: http://www.prisonplanet.com/egypt-muslim-brotherhood-leader-mohammed-badie-arrest-ordered.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.