- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

Amash: Syria strike ‘unquestionably unconstitutional’ without congressional approval

Posted By admin On August 28, 2013 @ 5:15 am In U.S. News | Comments Disabled

Ed O’Keefe
Washington Post [1]
August 28, 2013

It would be illegal for the White House to launch amilitary strike [2] against Syria without congressional approval, Rep. Justin Amash (R-Mich.) [3], one of the most outspoken GOP critics of President Obama and congressional leaders, said Tuesday.

The Michigan lawmaker used his Twitter account  [4]to respond to the news that House Speaker John A. Boehner (R-Ohio) has been consulted by the Obama administration about the potential use of force against Syria. Amash said that if Boehner believes the president will use force, the speaker should call the House back to Washington to debate and vote on that decision:

Full article here [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/amash-syria-strike-unquestionably-unconstitutional-without-congressional-approval.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Washington Post: http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/post-politics/wp/2013/08/27/amash-syria-strike-unquestionably-unconstitutional-without-congressional-approval/

[2] military strike: http://www.washingtonpost.com/world/national-security/kerry-obama-determined-to-hold-syria-accountable-for-using-chemical-weapons/2013/08/26/599450c2-0e70-11e3-8cdd-bcdc09410972_story.html?hpid=z1

[3] Rep. Justin Amash (R-Mich.): http://www.washingtonpost.com/politics/justin-amash-r-mich/gIQAMkzZKP_topic.html

[4] The Michigan lawmaker used his Twitter account : https://twitter.com/repjustinamash

[5] @SpeakerBoehner: https://twitter.com/SpeakerBoehner

[6] #Syria: https://twitter.com/search?q=%23Syria&src=hash

[7] August 27, 2013: https://twitter.com/repjustinamash/statuses/372349743625953281

[8] http://t.co/1PLurncs4M: http://t.co/1PLurncs4M

[9] August 27, 2013: https://twitter.com/repjustinamash/statuses/372352492061077504

[10] Is Constitutionalist Justin Amash’s Congressional Seat in Jeopardy?: http://www.prisonplanet.com/is-constitutionalist-justin-amashs-congressional-seat-in-jeopardy.html

[11] Ex-NSA chief to Justin Amash: Don’t ‘misrepresent’ spy program: http://www.prisonplanet.com/ex-nsa-chief-to-justin-amash-dont-misrepresent-spy-program.html

[12] Kerry: Obama Will Act on Climate Change Without Congressional Approval: http://www.prisonplanet.com/kerry-obama-will-act-on-climate-change-without-congressional-approval.html

[13] Rep. Rogers: Amash effort to curb NSA powers ‘dangerous’: http://www.prisonplanet.com/rep-rogers-amash-effort-to-curb-nsa-powers-dangerous.html

[14] Vote on Amash Amendment Reveals Ruse of Two-Party System: http://www.prisonplanet.com/vote-on-amash-amendment-reveals-ruse-of-two-party-system.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.