- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

Americans Were 12 Times More Interested in Miley Cyrus Than Syria

Posted By admin On September 9, 2013 @ 8:34 am In Multimedia,Tile | Comments Disabled

MAUREEN O’CONNOR
NYMag [1]
September 9, 2013

That Miley Cyrus captures more attention than escalating war in Syria is, by now [2]conventional wisdom [3]. But an exhaustive survey of news sources now reveals exactly how much attention Miley steals: Americans viewed twelve times as many pages about Miley Cyrus as they did about Syria — even though the news sources published 2.4 Syria articles for every one about Miley.

Outbrain [4] supplies “related links” modules to a network of 100,000 publishers, including major news sources like CNN, Fox News, and ESPN. On any given day, 87 percent of Americans who browse the web will view a page with an Outbrain module, explains the company’s vice-president of global marketing. They collect traffic data from every site in their network, which they use in a variety of algorithms to generate recommendations.

Americans Were 12 Times More Interested in Miley Cyrus Than Syria a 3x horizontal

In the three days surrounding Miley’s VMA performance and the Obama administration signaling its willingness [5] to bomb Syria [6], Outbrain’s network generated 8,104 stories about the former and 19,568 about the latter. The day after the VMAs, Miley Cyrus stories accounted for 12 percent of total U.S. page views, while Syria stories accounted for 1 percent.

Interest in the starlet significantly outpaced Syria in England, Australia, France, Germany, and every other nation in Outbrain’s analysis — except Israel and Russia. Globally, Miley Cyrus stories generated eight times as many page views as Syria did in the days surrounding the VMAs.

Full story here. [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/americans-were-12-times-more-interested-in-miley-cyrus-than-syria.html

URLs in this post:

[1] NYMag: http://nymag.com/thecut/2013/09/usa-12-times-more-interested-in-miley-than-syria.html

[2] by now: http://www.salon.com/2013/09/05/must_see_morning_clip_people_evaluate_military_action_against_miley_syria/

[3] conventional wisdom: http://www.theonion.com/articles/let-me-explain-why-miley-cyrus-vma-performance-was,33632/

[4] Outbrain: http://www.outbrain.com/

[5] signaling its willingness: http://nymag.com/daily/intelligencer/2013/08/kerry-syrias-chemical-weapons-undeniable.html

[6] to bomb Syria: http://nymag.com/daily/intelligencer/2013/08/us-poised-for-limited-military-strike-in-syria.html

[7] How America Reacted: Miley Cyrus Vs Syria: http://www.prisonplanet.com/how-america-reacted-miley-cirus-vs-syria.html

[8] Pop Star Miley Cyrus Asks “What Is Infowars?”: http://www.prisonplanet.com/pop-star-miley-cyrus-asks-what-is-infowars.html

[9] MTV VMAs 2013: It Was About Miley Cyrus Taking the Fall: http://www.prisonplanet.com/mtv-vmas-2013-it-was-about-miley-cyrus-taking-the-fall.html

[10] Don’t Let Your Daughters Grow Up To Be Like Miley Cyrus: http://www.prisonplanet.com/dont-let-your-daughters-grow-up-to-be-like-miley-cyrus.html

[11] Miley Cyrus Illuminati VMA Performance Secrets Revealed: http://www.prisonplanet.com/miley-cyrus-illuminati-vma-performance-secrets-revealed.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.