- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

Amnesty for illegals, repeal of ‘Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell,’ fail in Senate…

Posted By admin On September 22, 2010 @ 11:49 am In U.S. News | Comments Disabled

Roxana Tiron and J. Taylor Rushing
The Hill [1]
Wednesday, September 22, 2010

The Senate on Tuesday dealt a significant blow to the Obama administration’s efforts to repeal the ban on openly gay people serving in the military.

In a 56-43 vote, Senate Democratic leaders fell short of the 60 votes they needed to proceed to the 2011 defense authorization bill, which included language to repeal the Clinton-era “Don’t ask, don’t tell” law. Every Senate Republican present and three Democrats voted to block debate on the bill.

(ARTICLE CONTINUES BELOW)

Amnesty for illegals, repeal of Dont Ask, Dont Tell, fail in Senate... 140910banner5 [2]

Republicans objected to Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid’s (D-Nev.) plan to hold votes on several amendments to the bill that reflected Democratic priorities, including an immigration measure seen as boosting Reid’s own reelection campaign. Reid also would have limited amendments offered by the GOP.

Reid argued that both parties have allowed non-defense-related amendments to be considered on past authorization bills. He singled out Sen. John McCain (Ariz.), the ranking Republican on the Armed Services Committee, whom Reid said had offered amendments unrelated to the military.

Full story here. [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/amnesty-for-illegals-repeal-of-dont-ask-dont-tell-fail-in-senate.html

URLs in this post:

[1] The Hill: http://thehill.com/news-by-subject/defense-homeland-security/120029-dadtnosenate-deals-blow-to-dont-ask-dont-tell-repeal

[2] Image: http://www.homegain.com/homevalues

[3] Reid adds controversial immigration measure to defense bill: http://www.prisonplanet.com/reid-adds-controversial-immigration-measure-to-defense-bill.html

[4] Senate Dems Vote To Provide Obamacare To Illegals: http://www.prisonplanet.com/senate-dems-vote-to-provide-obamacare-to-illegals.html

[5] Graham Pulls Support for Major Senate Climate Bill: http://www.prisonplanet.com/graham-pulls-support-for-major-senate-climate-bill.html

[6] House Gears Up to Repeal Obamacare (Again): http://www.prisonplanet.com/house-gears-up-to-repeal-obamacare-again.html

[7] Bipartisan Deal Eases Way For Stimulus Bill in Senate: http://www.prisonplanet.com/bipartisan-deal-eases-way-for-stimulus-bill-in-senate.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.