- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

As U.N. Finalizes Arms Trade Treaty, Opponents Warn of Global Gun Grab

Posted By yihan On July 5, 2012 @ 9:33 am In Prison Planet,Tile | Comments Disabled

CNSNews.com [1]
Thursday, July 5, 2012

Amid energetic lobbying from both sides, the Obama administration is taking part in month-long negotiations at United Nations headquarters aimed at finalizing a conventional arms trade treaty, which supporters say will save millions of lives but opponents fear threatens to restrict Second Amendment rights at home and U.S. arms sales policies abroad.

U.N. bureaucrats insist that the U.N. Conference on the Arms Trade Treaty (ATT) will have no impact on civilian gun ownership, saying that it will deal only with the arms trade across borders. They also stress that its outcome will not be imposed on any country, noting it will only be binding on countries that ratify it.

In a letter [2] to Obama and Secretary of State Hillary Clinton on the eve of the conference, 130 Republican lawmakers outlined their concerns that the treaty being negotiated could negatively affect U.S. security, foreign policy and economic interests – as well as Americans’ constitutional rights.

“The ATT must not accept that free democracies and totalitarian regimes have the same right to conduct arms transfers: this is a dangerous piece of moral equivalence,” the letter stated.

Full story here. [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/as-u-n-finalizes-arms-trade-treaty-opponents-warn-of-global-gun-grab.html

URLs in this post:

[1] CNSNews.com: http://cnsnews.com/news/article/un-finalizes-arms-trade-treaty-opponents-warn-global-gun-grab

[2] letter: http://kelly.house.gov/sites/kelly.house.gov/files/ATT%20Letter.pdf

[3] UN Designs Behind Arms Trade Treaty (Video): http://www.prisonplanet.com/un-designs-behind-arms-trade-treaty-video.html

[4] Down with the U.N. Arms Trade Treaty and gun control: http://www.prisonplanet.com/down-with-the-u-n-arms-trade-treaty-and-gun-control.html

[5] UN Conference Fails to Agree to Arms Trade Treaty (ATT): http://www.prisonplanet.com/un-conference-fails-to-agree-to-arms-trade-treaty-att.html

[6] UN Arms Transfer Treaty (ATT) on Small Arms: Gun Grab Gradualism: http://www.prisonplanet.com/un-arms-transfer-treaty-att-on-small-arms-gun-grab-gradualism.html

[7] Senate Votes to Keep US Out of UN Arms Trade Treaty: http://www.prisonplanet.com/senate-votes-to-keep-us-out-of-un-arms-trade-treaty.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.