- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

Australian web filter to block 10,000 internet sites

Posted By admin On November 13, 2008 @ 11:45 am In Featured Stories | Comments Disabled

Jennifer Dudley-Nicholson
Australian Herald Sun [1]
Thursday, November 13, 2008

FLASHBACK: Australia To Enforce Mandatory Chinese-Style Internet Censorship [2]

AUSTRALIA’S mandatory net filter is being primed to block 10,000 websites as part of a blacklist of unspecified “unwanted content”.

Some 1300 websites have already been identified by the Australian Communications and Media Authority.

Communications Minister Senator Conroy revealed details of the Rudd Government’s proposed web filter as he called for expressions of interest from internet service providers (ISPs) for a live trial of the technology, the Courier-Mail reports.

ISPs will test ways to filter the web using volunteer subscribers. The trial will start before Christmas and is expected to last six weeks.

(ARTICLE CONTINUES BELOW)

Australian web filter to block 10,000 internet sites 131108banner2 [3]

“The pilot will specifically test filtering against the ACMA blacklist of prohibited content, which is mostly child pornography, as well as filtering of other unwanted content,” Senator Conroy told Parliament today.

“While the ACMA blacklist is currently around 1300 URLs, the pilot will test against this list – as well as filtering for a range of URLs to around 10,000 – so that the impacts on network performance of a larger blacklist can be examined.”

Electronic Frontiers Australia board member Colin Jacobs said his civil liberties group was concerned at what would be deemed “unwanted content”.

“Conroy said the list would contain illegal and unwanted content but we still have to see what would end up on that list.


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/australian-web-filter-to-block-10000-internet-sites.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Australian Herald Sun: http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,24645676-661,00.html

[2] FLASHBACK: Australia To Enforce Mandatory Chinese-Style Internet Censorship: http://www.prisonplanet.com/australia-to-enforce-mandatory-chinese-style-internet-censorship.html

[3] Image: http://www.prisonplanet.tv/subscribe_holiday.html

[4] Leaked Australian blacklist reveals banned sites: http://www.prisonplanet.com/leaked-australian-blacklist-reveals-banned-sites.html

[5] Aussie internet-net will be drawn wider: http://www.prisonplanet.com/aussie-internet-net-will-be-drawn-wider.html

[6] Aussie Net Censorship Filter On Backburner: http://www.prisonplanet.com/aussie-net-censorship-filter-on-backburner.html

[7] Australian government admits less than 32% of secret censorship list is related to underage images: http://www.prisonplanet.com/australian-government-admits-less-than-32-of-secret-censorship-list-is-related-to-underage-images.html

[8] UK ‘Porn’ Filter Will Blacklist Non-Porn Websites: http://www.prisonplanet.com/uk-porn-filter-will-blacklist-non-porn-websites.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.