- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

Big Banks Refuse to Let People Close Accounts

Posted By admin On October 17, 2011 @ 3:28 am In Money Watch,Tile | Comments Disabled

Washington’s Blog [1]
October 17, 2011

I’ve long supported the campaign to “Move Your Money” from the giant, insolvent banks who take billions in bailouts and use the money to speculate and to corrupt the system to smaller banks. See this [2]and this [3].

The Occupy Wall Street protesters have announced that November 5th is “Bank Transfer Day” [4], a targeted day to “Move Your Money”.

The big banks are trying to preempt the efforts of their customers to move their money to smaller banks.

This week, protesters were arrested when they tried to close their Citibank accounts:

And a Bank of American branch in Santa Cruz refused to let protesters close their accounts, saying they could not be protesters and customers at the same time:

In August, Bank of America used police (and reportedly swat teams) to stop St. Louis Bank of America customers from closing their accounts:


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/big-banks-refuse-to-let-people-close-accounts.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Washington’s Blog: http://www.washingtonsblog.com/2011/10/big-banks-refuse-to-let-people-close-accounts.html

[2] this: http://www.washingtonsblog.com/2009/12/move-your-money-from-your-giant-bank-to-a-community-bank.html

[3] this: http://www.washingtonsblog.com/2010/01/campaign-to-move-money-from-giant-banks-to-community-banks-is-going-viral.html

[4] November 5th is “Bank Transfer Day”: http://ampedstatus.org/remember-remember-the-5th-of-november-bank-transfer-day/

[5] NYPD Criminals Arrest Protesters For Trying To Close Their Citibank Accounts: http://www.prisonplanet.com/nypd-criminals-arrest-protesters-for-trying-to-close-their-citibank-accounts.html

[6] Second Dutch Bank To Follow ABN Amro, Close Gold Accounts: http://www.prisonplanet.com/second-dutch-bank-to-follow-abn-amro-close-gold-accounts.html

[7] Citibank Customers Arrested For Trying to Close Their Accounts: http://www.prisonplanet.com/citibank-customers-arrested-for-trying-to-close-their-accounts.html

[8] Cyprus Banks Close Until Thursday to Prevent Bank Run: http://www.prisonplanet.com/cyprus-banks-close-until-thursday-to-prevent-bank-run.html

[9] US Banks May End Free Checking Accounts: Report: http://www.prisonplanet.com/us-banks-may-end-free-checking-accounts-report.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.