- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

Big Brother continues to spy on American public

Posted By admin On October 2, 2009 @ 7:58 am In Prison Planet | Comments Disabled

Petoskey News-Review [1]
Friday, October 2, 2009

We’d like to believe that with a new administration in charge, the USA PATRIOT Act in its current form would be headed for the scrap heap.Alas, we would be wrong.

Despite campaign protestations about breach of civil liberties legalized by the 2001 law, the Obama clique seems pleased as punch to be the new puppetmasters behind unlawful government spying on the American public.

That includes shifting through your library selections, your business records and listening in on your phone calls. So be better be careful what you say about Barack Obama, just like you had to watch your mouth about George W. Bush.

You’ll recall the knee-jerk reaction to the Sept. 11 attacks resulted in Congress — Democrats and Republicans — approving this full frontal assault on civil liberties before the ash had even had a chance to settle at Ground Zero.

(ARTICLE CONTINUES BELOW)

Big Brother continues to spy on American public 230909banner1 [2]

But it’s been eight years. During those years the PATRIOT Act in conjunction with other Bush-era dismantling of Constitutional safeguards have left honest, God-fearing, taxpaying Americans on the same radar screen as al-Qaida operatives.According to the Associated Press and other reports, the Obama administration supports extending three key provisions of the Patriot Act that are due to expire at the end of the year.

Those provisions, along with roving wire taps and “lone wolf” monitoring, also give the government access to citizens’ library records, bringing howls of protests from librarians, civil libertarians and conservatives alike.

Assistant Attorney General Ronald Weich has informed  Sen. Patrick Leahy, chairman of the Senate Judiciary Committee, that the administration is willing to consider stronger civil rights protections in the new law “provided that they do not undermine the effectiveness of these important (provisions).”

That’s what we call lip service.

Full story here. [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/big-brother-continues-to-spy-on-american-public.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Petoskey News-Review: http://www.petoskeynews.com/articles/2009/10/02/editorials/doc4ac601f0ae338919637198.txt

[2] Image: http://www.efoodsdirect.com/gmoPeople.html?aid=14&adid=12

[3] Gary Johnson calls for repeal of the Patriot Act: http://www.prisonplanet.com/gary-johnson-calls-for-repeal-of-the-patriot-act.html

[4] Obama Pushes For Renewal Of Warrantless Spying On Americans: http://www.prisonplanet.com/obama-pushes-for-renewal-of-warrantless-spying-on-americans.html

[5] House Clears Path For Extension Of Government Spying On American Citizens: http://www.prisonplanet.com/house-clears-path-for-extension-of-government-spying-on-american-citizens.html

[6] From Bush to Obama, the snooping goes on: http://www.prisonplanet.com/from-bush-to-obama-the-snooping-goes-on.html

[7] Left-Wing Icon Daniel Ellsberg: ‘Obama Deceives the Public: http://www.prisonplanet.com/left-wing-icon-daniel-ellsberg-obama-deceives-the-public.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.