- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

Bill would clip wings of private drone use

Posted By admin On July 24, 2012 @ 8:16 am In U.S. News | Comments Disabled

Ben Wolfgang
Washington Times [1]
July 24, 2012

Concern over the personal privacy implications of the nation’s inevitable drone boom continues to grow on Capitol Hill.

This week, Rep. Ted Poe [2], a Texas Republican and former judge, will introduce the Preserving American Privacy Act, which sets strict limits on when, and for what purpose, law enforcement agencies and other entities can use unmanned aerial vehicles, or UAVs.

Drones are being used on a limited basis by some police and federal departments, but they will be available for commercial and private use in 2015.

This concerns lawmakers and Fourth Amendment advocates who fear that drone use will be abused and that Americans’ privacy rights will be eroded.

“When we see a drone in the air, it should be no surprise to us. Now is the time to start, not 2015,” Mr. Poe [2] said Friday. “With the increased technology of surveillance, Congress has to be proactive in limiting drone use to law enforcement, and also protecting civilians from the private use of drones.”

Full article here [1]

 


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/bill-would-clip-wings-of-private-drone-use.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Washington Times: http://www.washingtontimes.com/news/2012/jul/22/bill-would-clip-wings-of-private-drone-use/

[2] Rep. Ted Poe: http://www.washingtontimes.com/topics/ted-poe/

[3] TMZ Denies Reports That It Wants Its Own Private Drone: http://www.prisonplanet.com/tmz-denies-reports-that-it-wants-its-own-private-drone.html

[4] Florida Bill To Halt Police Drone Spying: http://www.prisonplanet.com/florida-bill-to-halt-police-drone-spying.html

[5] FAA: Drone Operators Have Zero Privacy Obligations: http://www.prisonplanet.com/faa-drone-operators-have-zero-privacy-obligations.html

[6] Gov. Rick Scott Signs Florida Drone Regulation Bill: http://www.prisonplanet.com/gov-rick-scott-signs-florida-drone-regulation-bill.html

[7] Anti-drone revolt prompts push for new federal, state laws: http://www.prisonplanet.com/anti-drone-revolt-prompts-push-for-new-federal-state-laws.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.