- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

Billboard Watches You Shop

Posted By admin On March 10, 2010 @ 9:10 am In Prison Planet | Comments Disabled

Jane Hamilton
The Sun [1]
Wednesday, March 10, 2010

RETAILERS are targeting individual shoppers with digital billboards like those in the hit Tom Cruise film Minority Report.

Cameras in the advert hoardings identify the age and sex of passers-by then display relevant products.

The makers claim images of faces are erased immediately but some consumers fear the billboards will capture their expressions and responses to the ads. The signs are being tried out in Japan. Digital advertising expert Omaid Hiwaizi, 40, from London agency Chemistry, said: “Companies will be watching closely to see if they do well.

(ARTICLE CONTINUES BELOW)

Billboard Watches You Shop 090310banner1 [2]

“Although it may seem scary, it’s no more sinister than retailers using cookies online to see what items you’ve looked at on their websites.

“Many already use this technology to work out what you want.”

Full story here. [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/billboard-watches-you-shop.html

URLs in this post:

[1] The Sun: http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/news/2885891/Billboard-watches-you-shop.html

[2] Image: http://prisonplanet.tv/signup.html

[3] FBI Times Square Billboard Mirrors Running Man Police State: http://www.prisonplanet.com/fbi-times-square-billboard-mirrors-running-man-police-state.html

[4] How Big Brother watches your every move: http://www.prisonplanet.com/how-big-brother-watches-your-every-move.html

[5] The Facebook camera that can recognise you every time you walk into a shop: http://www.prisonplanet.com/the-facebook-camera-that-can-recognise-you-every-time-you-walk-into-a-shop.html

[6] Big Brother Watching You Shop: http://www.prisonplanet.com/big-brother-watching-you-shop.html

[7] Who Watches The Watchers: http://www.prisonplanet.com/who-watches-the-watchers.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.