- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

Bombs, choppers during military exercises startle residents

Posted By admin On February 5, 2009 @ 1:50 pm In Featured Stories | Comments Disabled

Katie Moore
WWL-TV [1]
Thursday, February 5, 2009

NEW ORLEANS – Residents in and around New Orleans have been hearing the sounds of low-flying helicopters and what sounds like bomb blasts over the past few nights, but the sounds are part of a training exercise for some of America’s elite military troops.

At one Lakefront home, Gigi Burk normally hears her son, 6-year-old Beau, practicing the piano, but last night she heard something much different at around 10 p.m.

“I said, oh my God! They’re bombs. That’s what I thought it was, somebody dropping bombs,” Burk said.

(ARTICLE CONTINUES BELOW)

Bombs, choppers during military exercises startle residents 335x205 graph128c aj [2]

Burk said she panicked, not knowing why she was hearing what sounded like explosions and low-flying helicopters.

“We’re a little skittish around here with things that have happened,” Burk said.

But according to military officials, it’s a training exercise that brought about 150 U.S. troops from the U.S. Special Operations Command to train in New Orleans for urban warfare.

“They are regularly engaged in combat operations,” said U.S. Special Operations Command staffer Kimberly Tiscione. “They are the best of the best we have to offer across all the branches of the military.”

Black Hawk and “Little Bird” helicopters are transporting troops to several locations around New Orleans, according to Tiscione.

“They’re going to be flying near buildings, doing approaches on them,” Tiscione said. “You might see them landing on the roof tops or landing on the ground near them as well.”

“I heard a bunch of explosions starting at about 10 p.m. They were about ten seconds apart, and then they’d stop, and we thought it was over, but then they started again,” said Burk.

Tiscione said that the ground troops were performing “breeches at several different locations.

Full story here. [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/bombs-choppers-during-military-exercises-startle-residents.html

URLs in this post:

[1] WWL-TV: http://www.wwltv.com/topstories/stories/wwl020409cbbombs.1da02ce4.html

[2] Image: http://www.efoodsdirect.com/products.html

[3] U.S. Troops In Black Helicopters Invade New Orleans, Drop Bombs: http://www.prisonplanet.com/us-troops-in-black-helicopters-invade-new-orleans-drop-bombs.html

[4] Massachusetts Citizens Frightened by Midnight Military Exercises: http://www.prisonplanet.com/massachusetts-citizens-frightened-by-midnight-military-exercises.html

[5] Florida Residents Report Mysterious Black Military Aircraft: http://www.prisonplanet.com/florida-residents-report-mysterious-black-military-aircraft.html

[6] Black Hawk Helicopters Over Minneapolis Worry Residents: http://www.prisonplanet.com/black-hawk-helicopters-over-minneapolis-worry-residents.html

[7] Governor Proposes Martial Law Choppers For Chicago: http://www.prisonplanet.com/governor-proposes-martial-law-choppers-for-chicago.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.