- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

Buffett Doubts Euro Survival; Says System Is Flawed

Posted By admin On November 21, 2011 @ 4:22 am In Money Watch | Comments Disabled

Antonia van de Velde
CNBC [1]
November 21, 2011

The crisis in the euro zone has exposed the flaws of the 17-member currency union, and its leaders will need to take urgent action if they want the euro to survive, veteran investor Warren Buffett told CNBC on Monday.

“The system as presently designed has revealed a major flaw. And that flaw won’t be corrected just by words. Europe will either have to come closer together or there will have to be some other rearrangement because this system is not working,” Buffett said in an interview.

Asked whether the union would survive this crisis, Buffett said: “That’s in doubt now.”

Buffett, chairman and chief executive of conglomerate Berkshire Hathaway said he did not see many parallels between the crisis in the euro zone and concerns over debt in the United States, adding that the euro system has a major flaw.

Full article here [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/buffett-doubts-euro-survival-says-system-is-flawed.html

URLs in this post:

[1] CNBC: http://www.cnbc.com/id/45382630

[2] Euro Survival ‘Silly’ Question: Ex-ECB Board Member: http://www.prisonplanet.com/euro-survival-silly-question-ex-ecb-board-member.html

[3] Euro’s Collapse Is Not ‘Unthinkable’: Warren Buffett: http://www.prisonplanet.com/euros-collapse-is-not-unthinkable-warren-buffett.html

[4] Greenspan: South Must Follow North for Euro to Survive: http://www.prisonplanet.com/greenspan-south-must-follow-north-for-euro-to-survive.html

[5] Greece to Leave Euro Zone on June 18: Wealth Manager: http://www.prisonplanet.com/greece-to-leave-euro-zone-on-june-18-wealth-manager.html

[6] Chance of Euro Death up 50%: Economist: http://www.prisonplanet.com/chance-of-euro-death-up-50-economist.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.