- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

Bugs in the sky: Boeing showcases hard-to-detect drones that behave like a ‘swarm of insects’

Posted By admin On August 13, 2012 @ 6:15 am In Prison Planet | Comments Disabled

Juan Williams
UK Daily Mail [1]
Aug 13, 2012

Boeing engineers have successfully demonstrated new technology that enables drones to function like a ‘swarm of insects’ where they can communicate and carry out tasks in mid-air.

In June, engineers and researchers from Johns Hopkins University tested their technology on two ScanEagle drones in Oregon, Boeing revealed.

The drone development could lead to lower costs and less risk in military welfare, Boeing said in a statement.

Using just a military radio and a laptop, an operator on the ground was able to connect with the autonomous drones instructing them to carry out a mission simultaneously.

‘This swarm technology may one day enable warfighters in battle to request and receive time-critical intelligence, surveillance and reconnaissance information directly from airborne (unmanned aerial vehicles) much sooner than they can from ground control stations today,’ Gabriel Santander, Boeing’s program director of advanced autonomous networks, said.

Full article here [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/bugs-in-the-sky-boeing-showcases-hard-to-detect-drones-that-behave-like-a-swarm-of-insects.html

URLs in this post:

[1] UK Daily Mail: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/article-2187411/Boeing-showcase-drones-behave-like-swarm-insects.html

[2] Tiny Device Will Detect Domestic Drones: http://www.prisonplanet.com/tiny-device-will-detect-domestic-drones.html

[3] Big Sis Testing Drones That Can Detect Guns: http://www.prisonplanet.com/big-sis-testing-drones-that-can-detect-guns.html

[4] Military Develops Spy Drones the Size of Bugs: http://www.prisonplanet.com/military-develops-spy-drones-the-size-of-bugs.html

[5] The Insects Are Watching: The Future of Government Surveillance Technology: http://www.prisonplanet.com/the-insects-are-watching-the-future-of-government-surveillance-technology.html

[6] Rise of Drones in U.S. Drives Efforts to Limit Use by Police: http://www.prisonplanet.com/rise-of-drones-in-u-s-drives-efforts-to-limit-use-by-police.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.