- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

CDO-Related Credit Default Swap Crisis on the Horizon?

Posted By admin On November 15, 2008 @ 12:45 am In Money Watch | Comments Disabled

George Washington’s Blog [1]
Saurday, Nov 15, 2008

According to the Financial Times [2]:

“[There is a] New wave of CDOs at risk of default .

Synthetic CDOs, the risky and complex debt products that are based on pools of corporate credit derivatives, are under increasing pressure after suffering a wave of default-related losses on top of general credit market deterioration.”

See also this article from Bloomberg [3].

There are huge volumes [4] of credit default swaps written against collateralized debt obligations (CDOs), the specifics of which have not been made public [5].

Rising CDO defaults could very well lead to massive new CDS problems, sparking off another round of company failures.

CDO Related Credit Default Swap Crisis on the Horizon? 131108banner2 [6]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/cdo-related-credit-default-swap-crisis-on-the-horizon.html

URLs in this post:

[1] George Washington’s Blog : http://georgewashington2.blogspot.com/2008/11/new-wave-of-credit-default-swap.html

[2] Financial Times: http://www.ft.com/cms/s/0/ffda8156-b1c1-11dd-b97a-0000779fd18c.html

[3] Bloomberg: http://www.bloomberg.com/apps/news?pid=20601087&sid=a5x0jMKZf4yc&refer=home

[4] huge volumes: http://optionarmageddon.ml-implode.com/2008/11/06/dtcc-data-doesnt-disclose-real-dangers/

[5] have not been made public: http://georgewashington2.blogspot.com/2008/11/riskiest-40-of-credit-default-swaps.html

[6] Image: http://www.prisonplanet.tv/subscribe_holiday.html

[7] U.S., Cuomo Open Credit Default Swap Investigation: http://www.prisonplanet.com/us-cuomo-open-credit-default-swap-investigation.html

[8] Bond Insurers Getting Hammered by Credit Default Swaps: http://www.prisonplanet.com/bond-insurers-getting-hammered-by-credit-default-swaps.html

[9] Fed Planning Credit Default Swap Marketplace: http://www.prisonplanet.com/fed-planning-credit-default-swap-marketplace.html

[10] The “Central Banks’ Central Bank” says Bailouts Putting Nations at Risk, as Confirmed By Higher Credit Default Swap Spreads: http://www.prisonplanet.com/the-central-banks-central-bank-says-bailouts-putting-nations-at-risk-as-confirmed-by-higher-credit-default-swap-spreads.html

[11] Government Soaks Up AIG’s Toxic Credit Default Swaps On Our Dime: http://www.prisonplanet.com/government-soaks-up-aigs-toxic-credit-default-swaps-on-our-dime.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.