- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

China mocks U.S. as debt default looms

Posted By admin On October 16, 2013 @ 10:55 am In Featured Stories | Comments Disabled

Cheryl K. Chumley
The Washington Times [1]
October 16, 2013

Chinese state media have been filled this week with cartoon images of America’s leaders, mocking them for stumbling on a debt deal while depicting the nation as a beggar.

CBS [2] reported that a Commerce Minister adviser to the Chinese government [3]Mei Xinyu [4], said the “gentlemen” on Capitol Hill are unconcerned how their “monkey business” is impacting the world and degrading America’s image across the globe. He also said that if America does default on its loan obligations, China [5] will likely quit buying U.S. Treasury [6] bonds.

“Average Chinese believe [their] government is able to handle this situation and won’t let it shipwreck China [5]’s economy,” he said in the CBS [2] report.

Meanwhile, the media in China [5] continue to ridicule U.S. leaders, also depicting America as a nation that’s suffering and on life-support. Still, U.S. financial experts are telling China [5] to back off — that if America caves, so does China [5].

Full story here. [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/china-mocks-u-s-as-debt-default-looms.html

URLs in this post:

[1] The Washington Times: http://www.washingtontimes.com/news/2013/oct/16/china-mocks-us-debt-default-looms/

[2] CBS: http://www.washingtontimes.com/topics/cbs/

[3] Chinese government: http://www.washingtontimes.com/topics/chinese-government/

[4] Mei Xinyu: http://www.washingtontimes.com/topics/mei-xinyu/

[5] China: http://www.washingtontimes.com/topics/china/

[6] U.S. Treasury: http://www.washingtontimes.com/topics/us-treasury/

[7] US May Face ‘Armageddon’ If China, Japan Don’t Buy Debt: http://www.prisonplanet.com/us-may-face-armageddon-if-china-japan-dont-buy-debt.html

[8] China holdings of US debt at $1.15 trillion: http://www.prisonplanet.com/china-holdings-of-us-debt-at-1-15-trillion.html

[9] China’s holdings of US debt larger than reported: http://www.prisonplanet.com/chinas-holdings-of-us-debt-larger-than-reported.html

[10] U.S. Treasury: China Has Decreased Its Holdings of U.S. Debt: http://www.prisonplanet.com/u-s-treasury-china-has-decreased-its-holdings-of-u-s-debt.html

[11] Fed Now Largest Owner of U.S. Gov’t Debt—Surpassing China: http://www.prisonplanet.com/fed-now-largest-owner-of-u-s-gov%e2%80%99t-debt%e2%80%94surpassing-china.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.