- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

CNN Sinks To 21-Year Primetime Ratings Low In Second Quarter

Posted By admin On June 26, 2012 @ 3:02 pm In Featured Stories,Tile | Comments Disabled

Deadline.com [1]
Tuesday, June 26, 2012

Coming off its least-watched month in primetime in 20 years [2] in May, CNN [3]has taken another big ratings blow: The cable news network has registered to its lowest-rated quarter in primetime since 1991.

For this year’s second quarter, CNN hit a low among total viewers and the key adults 25-54 demographic, with all primetime programs posting steep declines.

The network averaged 446,000 total viewers and 129,000 in the 25-54 demo in primetime. Compared to last year’s second quarter, that’s down 35% and 41%, respectively. Rival Fox News Channel [4], meanwhile, with 1.79 million primetime total viewers on average, was down 1% from its 2011 second-quarter numbers.

FNC lost 14% in the 25-54, bringing in 355,000 viewers. MSNBC was down 13% in total primetime viewers, with 689,000 on average, and down 17% in the 25-54 with 217,000. The quarter ran March 26-June 22.

Full story here. [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/cnn-sinks-to-21-year-primetime-ratings-low-in-second-quarter.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Deadline.com: http://www.deadline.com/2012/06/cnn-sinks-to-21-year-primetime-ratings-low-in-second-quarter/

[2] least-watched month in primetime in 20 years: http://www.deadline.com/2012/05/cnn-ratings-monthly-low-20-years/

[3] CNN : http://www.deadline.com/tag/cnn/

[4] Fox News Channel: http://www.deadline.com/tag/fox-news-channel/

[5] CNN Hits 20-Year Weekday Primetime Low: http://www.prisonplanet.com/cnn-hits-20-year-weekday-primetime-low.html

[6] July 2012 Ratings: CNN Continues to Struggle: http://www.prisonplanet.com/july-2012-ratings-cnn-continues-to-struggle.html

[7] MSNBC Just Had Its Most Dreadful Ratings Period In 6 Years: http://www.prisonplanet.com/msnbc-just-had-its-most-dreadful-ratings-period-in-6-years.html

[8] CNN Hits Lowest Primetime Demo Rating at 9 PM In 15 Years: http://www.prisonplanet.com/cnn-hits-lowest-primetime-demo-rating-at-9-pm-in-15-years.html

[9] Maddow’s Ratings Hit New Lows Following Attacks On Alex Jones: http://www.prisonplanet.com/maddows-ratings-hit-new-lows-following-attacks-on-alex-jones.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.