- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

Computer-based attacks emerge as threat of future, general says

Posted By admin On September 14, 2011 @ 3:24 am In World News | Comments Disabled

Bill Gertz
The Washington Times [1]
Sept 14, 2011

The general in charge of U.S. cyberwarfare forces said Tuesday that future computer-based combat likely will involve electronic strikes that cause widespread power outages and even physical destruction of thousand-ton machines.

Army Gen. Keith Alexander [2], commander of the new U.S. Cyber Command [3], also said that massive losses of private and public data in recent years to computer criminals and spies represent the largest theft in history.

Threats posed by cyber-attacks on computer networks and the Internet are escalating from large-scale theft of data and strikes designed to disrupt computer operations to more lethal attacks that destroy entire systems and physical equipment.

“That’s our concern about what’s coming in cyberspace – a destructive element,” Gen. Alexander [2], who is also the director of the National Security Agency [4], the electronic spying agency [4], said in a speech at a conference on cyberwarfare.

Gen. Alexander [2] said two cases illustrate what could happen in an attack.

Full article here [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/computer-based-attacks-emerge-as-threat-of-future-general-says.html

URLs in this post:

[1] The Washington Times: http://p.washingtontimes.com/news/2011/sep/13/computer-based-attacks-emerge-as-threat-of-future-/?page=all

[2] Gen. Keith Alexander: http://p.washingtontimes.com/topics/keith-alexander/

[3] U.S. Cyber Command: http://p.washingtontimes.com/topics/us-cyber-command/

[4] National Security Agency: http://p.washingtontimes.com/topics/united-states-national-security-agency/

[5] Report: $91 million spent on secret NSA tests probing domestic computer systems: http://www.prisonplanet.com/report-91-million-spent-on-secret-nsa-tests-probing-domestic-computer-systems.html

[6] Pentagon creating teams to launch cyberattacks as threat grows: http://www.prisonplanet.com/pentagon-creating-teams-to-launch-cyberattacks-as-threat-grows.html

[7] Iran Says It Arrested Computer Worm Suspects: http://www.prisonplanet.com/iran-says-it-arrested-computer-worm-suspects.html

[8] Second computer worm ‘hits Iran’: http://www.prisonplanet.com/second-computer-worm-hits-iran.html

[9] Whizz kids deserting the spy world as threat of attacks increases: http://www.prisonplanet.com/whizz-kids-deserting-the-spy-world-as-threat-of-attacks-increases.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.