- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

Court: Obama recess appointments unconstitutional

Posted By yihan On January 25, 2013 @ 11:26 am In Featured Stories,Tile | Comments Disabled

Stephen Dinan
The Washington Times [1]
January 25, 2013

A federal appeals court has overturned President Obama’s controversial recess appointments from last year, arguing he abused his powers and acted when the Senate was not actually in a recess.

The three-judge panel’s ruling is a major blow to Mr. Obama. The judges ruled that the appointments Mr. Obama made to the National Labor Relations Board are illegal, and the board no longer has a quorum to operate.

But the ruling has even broader constitutional significance, with the judges arguing that the president’s recess appointment powers don’t apply to “intrasession” appointments — those made when Congress has left town for a few days or weeks.

The judges signaled the power only applies after Congress has adjourned sine die, which is a legislative term of art that signals the end to a long work period. In modern times, it means the president could only use his powers when Congress quits business at the end of a year.

Full story here. [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/court-obama-recess-appointments-unconstitutional.html

URLs in this post:

[1] The Washington Times: http://www.washingtontimes.com/news/2013/jan/25/federal-court-obama-broke-law-recess-appointments/

[2] Ron Paul Likens Obama to “Dictator” Over ‘Recess Appointments’: http://www.prisonplanet.com/ron-paul-likens-obama-to-dictator-over-recess-appointments.html

[3] President Obama to Make Recess Appointment of CMS Administrator Republicans Attacking as ‘Expert on Rationing’: http://www.prisonplanet.com/president-obama-to-make-recess-appointment-of-cms-administrator-republicans-attacking-as-expert-on-rationing.html

[4] Gay marriage ruling: Supreme Court finds DOMA unconstitutional: http://www.prisonplanet.com/gay-marriage-ruling-supreme-court-finds-doma-unconstitutional.html

[5] Newt Gingrich says he’d defy Supreme Court rulings he opposed: http://www.prisonplanet.com/newt-gingrich-says-hed-defy-supreme-court-rulings-he-opposed.html

[6] Appeals Court Rules Obamacare Is Unconstitutional: http://www.prisonplanet.com/appeals-court-rules-obamacare-is-unconstitutional.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.