- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

Criminal investigation into CIA treatment of detainees expected

Posted By admin On August 9, 2009 @ 4:40 am In Prison Planet | Comments Disabled

Greg Miller and Josh Meyer
LA Times [1]
Sunday, August 9, 2009

Reporting from Washington — U.S. Atty. Gen. Eric H. Holder Jr. is poised to appoint a criminal prosecutor to investigate alleged CIA abuses committed during the interrogation of terrorism suspects, current and former U.S. government officials said.

A senior Justice Department official said that Holder envisioned an inquiry that would be narrow in scope, focusing on “whether people went beyond the techniques that were authorized” in Bush administration memos that liberally interpreted anti-torture laws.

Current and former CIA and Justice Department officials who have firsthand knowledge of the interrogation files contend that criminal convictions will be difficult to obtain because the quality of evidence is poor and the legal underpinnings have never been tested.

Some cases have not previously been disclosed, including an instance in which a CIA operative brought a gun into an interrogation booth to force a detainee to talk, officials said.

Full article here [1]

Criminal investigation into CIA treatment of detainees expected  290509banner [2]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/criminal-investigation-into-cia-treatment-of-detainees-expected.html

URLs in this post:

[1] LA Times : http://www.latimes.com/news/nationworld/nation/la-na-cia-interrogate9-2009aug09,0,34626.story

[2] Image: http://www.efoodsdirect.com/ammo-food.html?aid=14&adid=5

[3] U.S Launches Criminal Investigation Into Oil Spill: http://www.prisonplanet.com/u-s-launches-criminal-investigation-into-oil-spill.html

[4] Did Bush & Co. Do Medical Research on Detainees?: http://www.prisonplanet.com/did-bush-co-do-medical-research-on-detainees.html

[5] War Criminal Obama Gets The Kony Treatment: http://www.prisonplanet.com/war-criminal-obama-gets-the-kony-treatment.html

[6] AG Holder Decides Not to Charge CIA Agents in Detainees’ Deaths: http://www.prisonplanet.com/ag-holder-decides-not-to-charge-cia-agents-in-detainees-deaths.html

[7] Criminal Investigation of BP Staged Oil Spill Vital to Gulf Recovery: http://www.prisonplanet.com/criminal-investigation-of-bp-staged-oil-spill-vital-to-gulf-recovery.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.