- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

DARPA seeks self-aware AI robot mega-tanks

Posted By admin On February 19, 2009 @ 12:02 pm In Sci Tech | Comments Disabled

Lewis Page
The Register [1]
Thursday, Feb 19, 2009

Pentagon boffinry chiefs have announced that they would like some self-aware computer systems capable of “meta-reasoning” and “introspection”. The plan is to place these machine intelligences in command of heavily armed, well-nigh invulnerable robotic tanks.

This latest plan for humanity’s subjugation comes, of course, from DARPA – the agency believed to harbour the largest known group of lifelike people-simulant robots piloted from within by tiny, malevolent space lizard infiltrators in the entire US federal government.

The plan is called Self-Explanation Learning Framework (SELF). It is being handled by Dr Mike Cox of DARPA’s renowned Information Processing Technology Office.

(ARTICLE CONTINUES BELOW)

DARPA seeks self aware AI robot mega tanks 335x205 graph128c aj [2]

According to this presentation (pdf) [3] by Dr Cox:

Without a model of self, cognitive systems remain brittle …

Task Benefits:

Improved goal satisfaction through self-explanation and meta-control module.

Self-explaining systems lead to better calibrated trust for human users.

Goal: Provide machines with an ability to reason about their own reasoning… SELF will enable any learning system to explain and repair itself

Full article here [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/darpa-seeks-self-aware-ai-robot-mega-tanks.html

URLs in this post:

[1] The Register : http://www.theregister.co.uk/2009/02/18/darpa_self_aware_tanks/

[2] Image: http://www.efoodsdirect.com/products.html

[3] presentation (pdf): http://www.darpa.mil/ipto/solicit/baa/SELF_presentation.pdf

[4] DARPA seeks ‘perch and stare’ spy-fly robot: http://www.prisonplanet.com/darpa-seeks-perch-and-stare-spy-fly-robot.html

[5] DARPA Unveils Atlas Humanoid Robot: http://www.prisonplanet.com/darpa-unveils-atlas-humanoid-robot.html

[6] DARPA Wants to Give Soldiers Robot Surrogates, Avatar Style: http://www.prisonplanet.com/darpa-wants-to-give-soldiers-robot-surrogates-avatar-style.html

[7] New DARPA Robot Looks Human: http://www.prisonplanet.com/new-darpa-robot-looks-human.html

[8] DARPA’s Next Generation Terminator-like Robot Unveiled: http://www.prisonplanet.com/darpas-next-generation-terminator-like-robot-unveiled.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.