- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

DARPA Unveils Atlas Humanoid Robot

Posted By yihan On July 12, 2013 @ 11:03 am In Multimedia | Comments Disabled

Adario Strange
pcmag.com [1]
July 12, 2013

Some critics of military drones have called for a re-examination of how aerial robots are used [2] in human conflicts. But it turns out that there’s actually another kind of military robot on the horizon that may be far more threatening in terms of future human-robot encounters: the Atlas humanoid robot.

Developed by Boston Dynamics for the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA), the 6’2″, 330-pound Atlas is the most advanced robot created by the organization to date. Evoking images of James Cameron’s sci-fi human hunter known as the Terminator, the human-scale proportions of Atlas give it the appearance of a mechanism simply waiting for a coating of artificial skin to be layered on.

The robot, an update of the previous PETMAN model [3], features two fully working hands with four fingers, including opposable thumbs, 28 hydraulically actuated joints, a “head” with LIDAR and stereo sensors, automatic crash protection, and an on-board, real-time control computerDARPA Unveils Atlas Humanoid Robot icon1 [4]. In a demonstration video (see below), the robot is shown easily avoiding obstacles, maintaining a steady gait despite unexpected changes to the terrain, and even maintaining its balance when struck by a large object.

While the hardware of Atlas is impressive, the end goal is to make the robot available to teams involved in the DARPA Robotics Challenge [5] (DRC) focused on developing innovativeDARPA Unveils Atlas Humanoid Robot icon1 [4] software to control the robot’s functions. Last month, DARPA awarded funds and an Atlas robot [6] to more than a half dozen teams who competed in a softwareDARPA Unveils Atlas Humanoid Robot icon1 [4]challenge leading up to the first leg of the Robotics Challenge, which kicks off in December.

Full story here. [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/darpa-unveils-atlas-humanoid-robot.html

URLs in this post:

[1] pcmag.com: http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2421687,00.asp

[2] how aerial robots are used: http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2417751,00.asp

[3] PETMAN model: http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2403015,00.asp

[4] Image: http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2421687,00.asp#

[5] DARPA Robotics Challenge: http://www.theroboticschallenge.org/

[6] DARPA awarded funds and an Atlas robot: http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2421106,00.asp

[7] DARPA’s Pet-Proto Robot Navigates Obstacles: http://www.prisonplanet.com/darpas-pet-proto-robot-navigates-obstacles.html

[8] DARPA Wants to Give Soldiers Robot Surrogates, Avatar Style: http://www.prisonplanet.com/darpa-wants-to-give-soldiers-robot-surrogates-avatar-style.html

[9] PETMAN: A Giant Step Taken Toward Building DARPA’s Robot Army: http://www.prisonplanet.com/petman-a-giant-step-taken-toward-building-darpas-robot-army.html

[10] ‘Mind Meld’ Study Leading to DARPA’s Killer Robot Army: http://www.prisonplanet.com/mind-meld-study-leading-to-darpas-killer-robot-army.html

[11] DARPA’s Next Generation Terminator-like Robot Unveiled: http://www.prisonplanet.com/darpas-next-generation-terminator-like-robot-unveiled.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.