- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

DARPA’s Pet-Proto Robot Navigates Obstacles

Posted By admin On October 25, 2012 @ 3:02 am In Prison Planet | Comments Disabled

DARPA
Oct 25, 2012

In this video, the Pet-Proto, a predecessor to DARPA’s Atlas robot, is confronted with obstacles similar to those robots might face in the DARPA Robotics Challenge (DRC). To maneuver over and around the obstacles, the robot exercises capabilities including autonomous decision-making, dismounted mobility and dexterity. The DARPA Robotics Challenge will test these and other capabilities in a series of tasks that will simulate conditions in a dangerous, degraded, human-engineered environment. Teams participating in Tracks B and C of the DRC will compete for access to a modified version of the Atlas robot for use in the 2013 and 2014 live disaster-response challenge events. For more information on the DRC, please see:http://go.usa.gov/VfA [1].


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/darpas-pet-proto-robot-navigates-obstacles.html

URLs in this post:

[1] http://go.usa.gov/VfA: http://go.usa.gov/VfA

[2] DARPA Unveils Atlas Humanoid Robot: http://www.prisonplanet.com/darpa-unveils-atlas-humanoid-robot.html

[3] DARPA Wants to Give Soldiers Robot Surrogates, Avatar Style: http://www.prisonplanet.com/darpa-wants-to-give-soldiers-robot-surrogates-avatar-style.html

[4] PETMAN: A Giant Step Taken Toward Building DARPA’s Robot Army: http://www.prisonplanet.com/petman-a-giant-step-taken-toward-building-darpas-robot-army.html

[5] ‘Mind Meld’ Study Leading to DARPA’s Killer Robot Army: http://www.prisonplanet.com/mind-meld-study-leading-to-darpas-killer-robot-army.html

[6] DARPA’s Next Generation Terminator-like Robot Unveiled: http://www.prisonplanet.com/darpas-next-generation-terminator-like-robot-unveiled.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.