- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

Democratic Senator uses Okla. tornado for anti-GOP rant over global warming

Posted By admin On May 21, 2013 @ 4:46 am In Featured Stories,Tile | Comments Disabled

Jeff Poor
Daily Caller [1]
May 21, 2013

While many Americans were tuned into news coverage of the massive damage from tornadoes ravaging the state of Oklahoma, Rhode Island Democratic Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse took to the Senate floor to rail against his Republican colleagues for denying the theory of anthropogenic global warming.

Whitehouse spent 15 minutes chastising GOP senators and justified his remarks by alluding to states that seek federal assistance in the wake of natural disasters.

“So, you may have a question for me,” Whitehouse said. “Why do you care? Why do you, Sheldon Whitehouse, Democrat of Rhode Island, care if we Republicans run off the climate cliff like a bunch of proverbial lemmings and disgrace ourselves? I’ll tell you why. We’re stuck in this together. We are stuck in this together. When cyclones tear up Oklahoma and hurricanes swamp Alabama and wildfires scorch Texas, you come to us, the rest of the country, for billions of dollars to recover. And the damage that your polluters and deniers are doing doesn’t just hit Oklahoma and Alabama and Texas. It hits Rhode Island with floods and storms. It hits Oregon with acidified seas, it hits Montana with dying forests. So, like it or not, we’re in this together.”

Whitehouse went on to condemn the current Republican position on global warming, citing economic, environmental and diplomatic damages.

Full article here [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/democratic-senator-uses-okla-tornado-for-anti-gop-rant-over-global-warming.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Daily Caller: http://dailycaller.com/2013/05/20/democratic-senator-goes-on-anti-gop-rant-over-climate-change-as-tornadoes-hit-oklahoma/

[2] Democratic Congresswoman Blames ‘Global Warming’ for California Wildfires: http://www.prisonplanet.com/democratic-congresswoman-blames-global-warming-for-california-wildfires.html

[3] NBC: Obama Scandals “Take a Pause” Because of Tornado: http://www.prisonplanet.com/nbc-obama-scandals-take-a-pause-because-of-tornado.html

[4] Senator Kerry Misfires about Global Warming and National Security: http://www.prisonplanet.com/senator-kerry-misfires-about-global-warming-and-national-security.html

[5] 30,000 Anti-Global Warming Scientists Can’t Be Wrong: http://www.prisonplanet.com/30000-anti-global-warming-scientists-can%e2%80%99t-be-wrong.html

[6] ‘World News’ Ties California Fires to Global Warming: http://www.prisonplanet.com/world-news-ties-california-fires-to-global-warming.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.