- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

Democrats seek to pin credit downgrade on tea party

Posted By admin On August 8, 2011 @ 7:32 am In U.S. News | Comments Disabled

Ben Wolfgang
The Washington Times [1]
Aug 8, 2011

While continuing to cast doubt on the credibility of Standard & Poor’s, several Democrats on Sunday said there is an even greater culprit in the downgrade of the nation’s credit rating: the tea party.

“I believe this is, without question, the tea party downgrade,” Sen. John F. Kerry, Massachusetts Democrat, said on NBC’s “Meet the Press” on Sunday, a day that also saw mounting anxieties in world markets over the downgrade among myriad other economic woes worldwide. Some of the world’s top financial ministers issued a joint statement Sunday night committing themselves to preserve the stability of financial markets and their economies.

David Axelrod, a former senior adviser to President Obama, used the exact same phrase in dubbing the credit rating drop the “tea party downgrade,” as Democrats tried to position themselves as reasonable, pragmatic leaders and conservative Republicans as irresponsible ideologues who caused the downgrade by refusing to accept any new taxes.

That’s exactly the kind of blame game that led Standard & Poor’s, one of three key credit-ratings agencies, to strip the U.S. federal government of its AAA status Friday night and reducing it to AA+ for the first time in the nation’s history.

Full article here [1]

Democrats seek to pin credit downgrade on tea party  150709banner2 [2]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/democrats-seek-to-pin-credit-downgrade-on-tea-party.html

URLs in this post:

[1] The Washington Times: http://www.washingtontimes.com/news/2011/aug/7/democrats-seek-to-pin-credit-downgrade-on-tea-part/

[2] Image: http://www.prisonplanet.tv/

[3] Ron Paul: Tea Party not to blame for Standard & Poor’s downgrade: http://www.prisonplanet.com/ron-paul-tea-party-not-to-blame-for-standard-poor%e2%80%99s-downgrade.html

[4] United States tipped to lose another AAA credit rating: http://www.prisonplanet.com/united-states-tipped-to-lose-another-aaa-credit-rating.html

[5] S&P Rating Agency May Soon Downgrade U.S. Debt From AAA: http://www.prisonplanet.com/sp-rating-agency-may-soon-downgrade-u-s-debt-from-aaa.html

[6] Panic Withdrawals At Santander Bank After Credit Downgrade: http://www.prisonplanet.com/panic-withdrawals-at-santander-bank-after-credit-downgrade.html

[7] There’s Only One Way to Avoid a Downgrade to U.S. Credit: http://www.prisonplanet.com/theres-only-one-way-to-avoid-a-downgrade-to-u-s-credit.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.