- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

DHS emergency power extended, including control of private telecom systems

Posted By admin On July 13, 2012 @ 7:51 am In Prison Planet | Comments Disabled

Shaun Waterman
The Washington Times [1]
Friday, July 13, 2012

The Obama administration [2] has given the Department of Homeland Security [3] powers to prioritize government communications over privately owned telephone and Internet systems in emergencies.

An executive order signed June 6 “gives DHS [3] the authority to seize control of telecommunications facilities, including telephone, cellular and wireless networks, in order to prioritize government communications over private ones in an emergency,” said Amie Stephanovich [4], a lawyer with the Electronic Privacy Information Center [5] (EPIC [5]).

The White House [6] says Executive Order 13618, published Wednesday in the Federal Register, is designed to ensure that the government can communicate during major disasters and other emergencies and contains no new authority.

“The [order] recognizes the creation of DHS [3] and provides the Secretary the flexibility to organize the communications systems and functions that reside within the department [3] as [she] believes will be most effective,” White House [6] spokeswoman Caitlin Hayden [7] said in an email. “The [order] does not transfer authorities between or among departments.”

Full story here. [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/dhs-emergency-power-extended-including-control-of-private-telecom-systems.html

URLs in this post:

[1] The Washington Times: http://www.washingtontimes.com/news/2012/jul/12/dhs-emergency-power-extended-including-control-of-/

[2] Obama administration: http://www.washingtontimes.com/topics/barack-obama/

[3] Department of Homeland Security: http://www.washingtontimes.com/topics/department-of-homeland-security/

[4] Amie Stephanovich: http://www.washingtontimes.com/topics/amie-stephanovich/

[5] Electronic Privacy Information Center: http://www.washingtontimes.com/topics/electronic-privacy-information-center/

[6] White House: http://www.washingtontimes.com/topics/white-house/

[7] Caitlin Hayden: http://www.washingtontimes.com/topics/caitlin-hayden/

[8] Obama Prepares U.S. Telecom Grab: http://www.prisonplanet.com/obama-prepares-u-s-telecom-grab.html

[9] War on Drugs “Transferred” to Private Mercenaries Including Blackwater: http://www.prisonplanet.com/104369.html

[10] Greek Power Regulator Calls Emergency Meeting to Avert Collapse of Power Grid and Natural Gas System: http://www.prisonplanet.com/greek-power-regulator-calls-emergency-meeting-to-avert-collapse-of-power-grid-and-natural-gas-system.html

[11] Greek Power Regulator Calls Emergency Meeting to Avert Collapse of Power Grid and Natural Gas System: http://www.prisonplanet.com/greek-power-regulator-calls-emergency-meeting-to-avert-collapse-of-power-grid-and-natural-gas-system-2.html

[12] Facial recognition systems for Orange County, California: http://www.prisonplanet.com/facial-recognition-systems-for-orange-county-california.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.