- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

Dollar Falls to Lowest Level Versus Euro in 2009 as Stocks Gain

Posted By admin On September 8, 2009 @ 10:31 am In Money Watch | Comments Disabled

Ye Xie and Lukanyo Mnyanda
Bloomberg [1]
Tuesday, Sept 8th, 2009

The dollar declined to the lowest level this year against the euro as equity markets rose on speculation the global recession is easing, sapping demand for the currency as a haven.

The greenback also fell the most against the currencies of six major U.S. trading partners since July as the dollar became the cheapest funding currency in the London interbank lending market. The yen gained against the dollar as Japan’s corporate bankruptcies dropped for the first time in three months. The pound strengthened as U.K. factory output rose three times as much as economists forecast.

“A risk-positive environment is negative to the dollar largely because capital is leaving the U.S.,” said David Powell, a currency strategist in London at Bank of America Corp., in an interview on Bloomberg Television. “Global investors become more bullish on the world economy.”

The dollar depreciated 0.9 percent to $1.4467 per euro at 9:49 a.m. in New York, from $1.4332 yesterday, after earlier reaching $1.4507, the weakest level since Dec. 18. The U.S. currency slipped 0.8 percent to 92.30 yen, from 93.08. The euro was little changed at 133.50 yen, compared with 133.39.

Full article here [1]

Dollar Falls to Lowest Level Versus Euro in 2009 as Stocks Gain  270809banner [2]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/dollar-falls-to-lowest-level-versus-euro-in-2009-as-stocks-gain.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Bloomberg: http://www.bloomberg.com/apps/news?pid=20601101&sid=aZ3xaZjdsbtY

[2] Image: http://prisonplanet.tv/signup.html

[3] U.K. Pound Falls Versus Dollar to Lowest Level Since April 2006: http://www.prisonplanet.com/uk-pound-falls-versus-dollar-to-lowest-level-since-april-2006.html

[4] Dollar Falls to Near 2009 Low as Economy Pares Refuge Demand: http://www.prisonplanet.com/dollar-falls-to-near-2009-low-as-economy-pares-refuge-demand.html

[5] Euro Falls Versus Dollar as EU Prepares to Double Crisis Fund: http://www.prisonplanet.com/euro-falls-versus-dollar-as-eu-prepares-to-double-crisis-fund.html

[6] Dollar Falls to Record Versus Euro; Credit Woes May Damp Growth: http://www.prisonplanet.com/dollar-falls-to-record-versus-euro-credit-woes-may-damp-growth.html

[7] Euro Falls to 13-Month Low Versus Dollar; ECB Debated Rate Cut: http://www.prisonplanet.com/euro-falls-to-13-month-low-versus-dollar-ecb-debated-rate-cut.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.