- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

Down with the U.N. Arms Trade Treaty and gun control

Posted By admin On July 23, 2012 @ 1:36 am In U.S. News | Comments Disabled

Kevin Kelly
Washington Times [1]
July 23, 2012

The United Nations is currently considering the merits of the Arms Trade Treaty, a proposition that could have serious ramifications for the United States. Supporters claim that the purpose of the treaty is to combat terrorism; however, opponents point out that the treaty could seriously erode our Second Amendment right to bear arms. In fact, this treaty should be “scrapped” as another counterproductive attempt at gun control, and denounced as an assault on our Constitutional liberties as well.

When the treaty was originally proposed by the United Nations in 2006, the U.S. voted against the resolution, but the Obama Administration and several U.S. representatives revived it in 2010. So far, 152 nations have helped draft the blueprint for the treaty and it is expected to be completed on July 27. Secretary of State Clinton has already pledged that she will push the Senate to sanction the proposal. If ratified by the Senate, the agreement would create a global registry of private ownership of firearms, mandate the creation of a national collection agency for those guns, and would seek to ban semi-automatic weapons. All of these ambitions are in direct conflict with the right of Americans to be able to protect themselves without interference from the government.

Advocates for gun control believe that by regulating and restricting the right to possess a firearm, violence will be reduced – that fewer guns will mean less crime. In fact, the opposite has been shown to be true. In 2008, our nation’s capital was ordered to lift a thirty year ban on handguns after a federal court tossed out the prohibition. Soon after the ruling was announced, Mayor Adrian Fenty held a press conference where he declared, “More guns very simply lead to more violence.” But according to FBI statistics, since Washington D.C.’s gun ban was implemented, the murder rate for the district increased while the nation’s murder rate declined. After the injunction against handguns was lifted, from 2008 to 2009, murders in the district fell twenty-five percent.

Full article here [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/down-with-the-u-n-arms-trade-treaty-and-gun-control.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Washington Times: http://communities.washingtontimes.com/neighborhood/remnant/2012/jul/23/down-with-un-arms-trade-treaty-gun-control/

[2] UN Designs Behind Arms Trade Treaty (Video): http://www.prisonplanet.com/un-designs-behind-arms-trade-treaty-video.html

[3] As U.N. Finalizes Arms Trade Treaty, Opponents Warn of Global Gun Grab: http://www.prisonplanet.com/as-u-n-finalizes-arms-trade-treaty-opponents-warn-of-global-gun-grab.html

[4] UN Conference Fails to Agree to Arms Trade Treaty (ATT): http://www.prisonplanet.com/un-conference-fails-to-agree-to-arms-trade-treaty-att.html

[5] UN Arms Trade Treaty, Day Two: Focus Is Transfer, Registry of Firearms: http://www.prisonplanet.com/un-arms-trade-treaty-day-two-focus-is-transfer-registry-of-firearms.html

[6] Senate Votes to Keep US Out of UN Arms Trade Treaty: http://www.prisonplanet.com/senate-votes-to-keep-us-out-of-un-arms-trade-treaty.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.