- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

Drones are taking to the skies in the U.S.

Posted By yihan On February 17, 2013 @ 6:12 am In Prison Planet,Tile | Comments Disabled

Brian Bennett and Joel Rubin
Los Angeles Times [1]
February 17, 2013

While a national debate has erupted over theĀ Obama [2] administration’s lethal drone strikes overseas, federal authorities have stepped up efforts to license surveillance drones for law enforcement and other uses in U.S. airspace, spurring growing concern about violations of privacy.

TheĀ Federal Aviation Administration [3] said Friday it had issued 1,428 permits to domestic drone operators since 2007, far more than were previously known. Some 327 permits are still listed as active.

Operators include police, universities, state transportation departments and at least seven federal agencies. The remotely controlled aircraft vary widely, from devices as small as model airplanes to large unarmed Predators.

The FAA, which has a September 2015 deadline fromCongress [4] to open the nation’s airspace to drone traffic, has estimated 10,000 drones could be aloft five years later. The FAA this week solicited proposals to create six sites across the country to test drones, a crucial step before widespread government and commercial use is approved.

Full story here. [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/drones-are-taking-to-the-skies-in-the-u-s.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Los Angeles Times: http://www.latimes.com/news/nationworld/nation/la-na-domestic-drones-20130216,0,3374671.story

[2] Obama: http://www.latimes.com/topic/politics/government/barack-obama-PEPLT007408.topic

[3] Federal Aviation Administration: http://www.latimes.com/topic/politics/regulatory-policy-organizations/federal-aviation-administration-ORGOV00000232.topic

[4] Congress: http://www.latimes.com/topic/politics/government/u.s.-congress-ORGOV0000131.topic

[5] Europe to Open Its Skies to Drones: http://www.prisonplanet.com/europe-to-open-its-skies-to-drones.html

[6] Pilot Group Expresses Concern Over Sharing the Sky With Drones: http://www.prisonplanet.com/pilot-group-expresses-concern-over-sharing-the-sky-with-drones.html

[7] Sheriff’s Office wants to fly drones over Orange County skies: http://www.prisonplanet.com/sheriffs-office-wants-to-fly-drones-over-orange-county-skies.html

[8] Rights Groups Petition FAA On Use Of Drones In US Skies: http://www.prisonplanet.com/rights-groups-petition-faa-on-use-of-drones-in-us-skies.html

[9] Congress Welcomes Drones Into American Skies ASAP: http://www.prisonplanet.com/congress-welcomes-drones-into-american-skies-asap.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.