- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

EPA Ponders Expanded Regulatory Power In Name of ‘Sustainable Development’

Posted By admin On December 20, 2011 @ 4:51 am In U.S. News | Comments Disabled

George Russell
Fox News [1]
December 20, 2011

The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency [2] wants to change how it analyzes problems and makes decisions, in a way that would give it vastly expanded power to regulate businesses, communities and ecosystems in the name of “sustainable development,” the centerpiece of a global United Nations [3] conference slated for Rio de Janeiro [4] next June.

The major focus of the EPA thinking is a weighty study the agency commissioned last year from the National Academies of Science. Published in August, the study, entitled “Sustainability and the U.S. EPA,” cost nearly $700,000 and involved a team of a dozen outside experts and about half as many National Academies staff.

Its aim: how to integrate sustainability “as one of the key drivers within the regulatory responsibilities of EPA.” The panel who wrote the study declares part of its job to be “providing guidance to EPA on how it might implement its existing statutory authority to contribute more fully to a more sustainable-development trajectory for the United States [5].”

Or, in other words, how to use existing laws to new ends.

Full article here [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/epa-ponders-expanded-regulatory-power-in-name-of-sustainable-development.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Fox News: http://www.foxnews.com/politics/2011/12/19/epa-ponders-expanded-regulatory-power-in-name-sustainable-development/

[2] Environmental Protection Agency: http://www.foxnews.com/topics/politics/environmental-protection-agency.htm#r_src=ramp

[3] United Nations: http://www.foxnews.com/topics/politics/united-nations.htm#r_src=ramp

[4] Rio de Janeiro: http://www.foxnews.com/topics/brazil.htm#r_src=ramp

[5] United States: http://www.foxnews.com/topics/u.s.htm#r_src=ramp

[6] US Government Gives Classified Tesla Technology to UN for Sustainable Development Scheme: http://www.prisonplanet.com/us-government-gives-classified-tesla-technology-to-un-for-sustainable-development-scheme.html

[7] The Four-Part Process Leading to Sustainable Development: http://www.prisonplanet.com/the-four-part-process-leading-to-sustainable-development.html

[8] Sustainable Development Park Violates Artist’s First Amendment Rights: http://www.prisonplanet.com/sustainable-development-park-violates-artists-first-amendment-rights.html

[9] Senate GOP ponders ceding power to President Obama: http://www.prisonplanet.com/senate-gop-ponders-ceding-power-to-president-obama.html

[10] FBI Power to Snoop Expanded (Again): http://www.prisonplanet.com/fbi-power-to-snoop-expanded-again.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.