- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

Europe’s own surveillance state

Posted By admin On November 2, 2009 @ 11:40 am In Prison Planet | Comments Disabled

Stephen Booth
London Guardian [1]
Monday, Nov 2nd, 2009

As eloquently expressed in this forum before, the defence of our civil liberties is now a war on two fronts. While the UK government pushes ahead with new ways to stockpile our personal data and watch us at every street corner, the European Union is quietly getting on with establishing its very own Europe-wide version of the surveillance state.

Despite the stalwart efforts of groups such as Statewatch, most people, including in the media, have not yet woken up to this. Perhaps it is the sheer scale of the erosion of citizens’ freedom in the UK that leaves the majority numb to anti-privacy developments that are already well underway in Brussels.

Through the use of CCTV, UK citizens are among the most surveilled in the democratic world. Our DNA is collected and stored by the state at five times the rate of the next highest EU country (Austria), and telecoms service providers are obliged to hold records of our phone calls, emails, and text messages for 12 months.

But it is precisely because of the UK’s advances in this area that we must now pay better attention to what is happening in the EU. The bigger the UK’s DNA database, for instance, the more information available to authorities across Europe, since the UK has now agreed to grant EU member states access to it. The EU is also due to create its very own central database designed to store vast amounts of biometric data and, in the commission’s own words, the “largest 10 fingerprint system in the world”.

Full article here [1]

Europes own surveillance state  FOTR 340x169 PP [2] 


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/europes-own-surveillance-state.html

URLs in this post:

[1] London Guardian: http://www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree/libertycentral/2009/nov/02/europe-surveillance-state

[2] Image: http://prisonplanet.tv/signup.html

[3] If You Like The Surveillance State, You’ll Love E-Verify: http://www.prisonplanet.com/if-you-like-the-surveillance-state-youll-love-e-verify.html

[4] The Surveillance State Threatens All of Us: http://www.prisonplanet.com/the-surveillance-state-threatens-all-of-us.html

[5] State Spied On 500,000 People Last Year: http://www.prisonplanet.com/state-spied-on-500000-people-last-year.html

[6] Safety or Statism: The Goal of the Surveillance State: http://www.prisonplanet.com/safety-or-statism-the-goal-of-the-surveillance-state.html

[7] Handful of Congress Members Move to Rein In Surveillance State: http://www.prisonplanet.com/handful-of-congress-members-move-to-rein-in-surveillance-state.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.