- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

FAA official: No armed drones in U.S.

Posted By admin On February 14, 2013 @ 5:47 am In Featured Stories,Tile,World News | Comments Disabled

Ben Wolfgang
Washington Times [1]
Feb 14, 2013

An official with the Federal Aviation Administration [2] reassured the public Wednesday that no armed drones will be permitted in U.S. airspace, but he acknowledged the agency can do little about privacy fears associated with the unmanned craft.

In an address to the drone-industry’s leading trade group, which is meeting this week in Northern Virginia, Jim Williams [3] said existing rules already bar aircraft from using weapons and “we don’t have any plans of changing [those rules] for unmanned aircraft.”

“We currently have rules in the books that deal with releasing anything from an aircraft, period. Those rules are in place and that would prohibit weapons from being installed on a civil aircraft,” said Mr. Williams [3], who heads the FAA’s Unmanned Aircraft Systems Integration Office [4], formed last year to shepherd drones into already-crowded American skies and integrate drone use with the manned-aircraft system.

The FAA [2] has cited “privacy concerns” as one reason it has fallen behind the congressionally mandated integration schedule, but Mr. Williams [3] said the agency actually can’t do much of anything about those fears.

Full article here [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/faa-official-no-armed-drones-in-u-s.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Washington Times: http://www.washingtontimes.com/news/2013/feb/13/faa-official-no-armed-drones-us/

[2] Federal Aviation Administration: http://www.washingtontimes.com/topics/federal-aviation-administration/

[3] Jim Williams: http://www.washingtontimes.com/topics/jim-williams/

[4] FAA’s Unmanned Aircraft Systems Integration Office: http://www.washingtontimes.com/topics/faas-unmanned-aircraft-systems-integration-office/

[5] A Code Of Conduct, For Drones?: http://www.prisonplanet.com/a-code-of-conduct-for-drones.html

[6] Police Set To Use Armed Drones Against Americans: http://www.prisonplanet.com/police-set-to-use-armed-drones-against-americans.html

[7] Canadian Military to spend $1B on armed drones: http://www.prisonplanet.com/canadian-military-to-spend-1b-on-armed-drones.html

[8] Feinstein worried armed drones coming to US, legal or not: http://www.prisonplanet.com/feinstein-worried-armed-drones-coming-to-us-legal-or-not.html

[9] Pilot Group Expresses Concern Over Sharing the Sky With Drones: http://www.prisonplanet.com/pilot-group-expresses-concern-over-sharing-the-sky-with-drones.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.