- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

FCC backpedals from Internet tax

Posted By admin On September 10, 2012 @ 8:47 am In U.S. News | Comments Disabled

Brendan Sasso
The Hill [1]
Sept 10, 2012

The Federal Communications Commission is rapidly backpedaling from a proposal to tax broadband Internet service after a public outcry over the issue.

Democrats and Republicans at the agency are now blaming each other for pushing the idea in the first place.

Neil Grace, a spokesman for Chairman Julius Genachowski, said the commission only made the proposal “following the urging of Republican Commissioners and members of Congress.”

“The Chairman remains unconvinced that including broadband is the right approach,” he said.

Full article here [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/fcc-backpedals-from-internet-tax.html

URLs in this post:

[1] The Hill: http://thehill.com/blogs/hillicon-valley/technology/248317-fcc-backpedals-from-internet-tax-proposal

[2] New U.S. Push to Regulate Internet Access: http://www.prisonplanet.com/new-u-s-push-to-regulate-internet-access.html

[3] Julius Caesar of the Internet: http://www.prisonplanet.com/julius-caesar-of-the-internet.html

[4] FCC Sets Sail on Internet Rulemaking: http://www.prisonplanet.com/fcc-sets-sail-on-internet-rulemaking.html

[5] FCC eyes tax on Internet service: http://www.prisonplanet.com/fcc-eyes-tax-on-internet-service.html

[6] FCC Commissioners: FCC Lacks Authority to Regulate the Internet: http://www.prisonplanet.com/fcc-commissioners-fcc-lacks-authority-to-regulate-the-internet.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.