- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

Feds Studying How to Use Twitter For ‘Depression Surveillance’

Posted By admin On October 16, 2013 @ 10:58 am In Prison Planet | Comments Disabled

Elizabeth Harrington
Free Beacon.com [1]
October 16, 2013

The federal government is studying how to use Twitter for surveillance on depressed people.

The University of California, San Diego (UCSD) began a study financed by the National Institutes of Health last month that will provide “population level depression monitoring” through the social media site.

The project, “Utilizing Social Media as a Resource for Mental Health Surveillance,” is costing taxpayers $82,800.

While Twitter has been used by government agencies, such as the Secret Service [2] andDepartment of Homeland Security [3], for national security related monitoring, the project suggests the social network can be used for public health surveillance as well.

Full story here. [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/feds-studying-how-to-use-twitter-for-depression-surveillance.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Free Beacon.com: http://freebeacon.com/feds-studying-how-to-use-twitter-for-depression-surveillance/

[2] Secret Service: http://cnsnews.com/news/article/secret-service-asks-americans-report-tweets-concern-you

[3] Department of Homeland Security: http://www.reuters.com/article/2012/01/11/us-usa-homelandsecurity-websites-idUSTRE80A1RC20120111

[4] The U.K. wants your Twitter chatter under surveillance: http://www.prisonplanet.com/the-uk-wants-your-twitter-chatter-under-surveillance.html

[5] IRS to monitor Facebook, Twitter for tax cheats: http://www.prisonplanet.com/irs-to-monitor-facebook-twitter-for-tax-cheats.html

[6] During the Olympics, The Feds Will Be Reading Your Tweets – And the Blotter: http://www.prisonplanet.com/during-the-olympics-the-feds-will-be-reading-your-tweets-%e2%80%93-and-the-blotter.html

[7] Surveillance Proponents Exploit Twitter Riots to Push For More Control: http://www.prisonplanet.com/surveillance-proponents-exploit-twitter-riots-to-push-for-more-control.html

[8] Twitter Suspends Account of Journalist For Criticizing NBC: http://www.prisonplanet.com/twitter-suspends-account-of-journalist-for-criticizing-nbc.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.