- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

Feinstein Gun Control Bill to Exempt Government Officials

Posted By yihan On January 25, 2013 @ 11:42 am In Featured Stories,Tile | Comments Disabled

Daniel Halper
The Weekly Standard [1]
January 25, 2013

Not everyone will have to abide by Senator Dianne Feinstein’s gun control bill. If the proposed legislation becomes law, government officials and others will be exempt.

“Mrs. Feinstein’s measure would exempt more than 2,200 types of hunting and sporting rifles; guns manually operated by bolt, pump, lever or slide action; and weapons used by government officials, law enforcement and retired law enforcement personnel,” the Washington Times [2] reports.

The Huffington Post [3] confirms these exemptions, and adds that guns owned prior to the legislation becoming law will be permissible, too. “[T]he bill includes a number of exemptions: It exempts more than 2,200 hunting and sporting weapons; any gun manually operated by a bolt, pump, lever or slide action; any weapons used by government officials and law enforcement; and any weapons legally owned as of the date of the bill’s enactment.”

The bill’s measures include stopping “the sale, manufacture and importation of 158 specifically named military-style firearms [4] and ammunition magazines that hold more than 10 rounds. It would also ban an additional group of assault weapons that accept detachable ammunition magazines and have at least one military characteristic,” according to the Huffington Post.

Full story here. [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/feinstein-gun-control-bill-to-exempt-government-officials.html

URLs in this post:

[1] The Weekly Standard: http://www.weeklystandard.com/blogs/feinstein-gun-control-bill-exempt-government-officials_697732.html

[2] Washington Times: http://www.washingtontimes.com/news/2013/jan/24/feinstein-rolls-out-proposal-ban-assault-weapons/print/

[3] Huffington Post: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/01/24/dianne-feinstein-assault-weapons-ban_n_2541743.html

[4] 158 specifically named military-style firearms: http://big.assets.huffingtonpost.com/firearms.jpg

[5] Special Report: Feinstein & Flunkies Exempt from Gun Control Bill: http://www.prisonplanet.com/feinstein-flunkies-exempt-from-gun-control-bill.html

[6] Feinstein’s Gun Control Bill Will Trigger The Next American Revolution: http://www.prisonplanet.com/feinsteins-gun-control-bill-will-trigger-the-next-american-revolution.html

[7] Gun control: Officials set sights on ammunition background checks: http://www.prisonplanet.com/gun-control-officials-set-sights-on-ammunition-background-checks.html

[8] Feinstein declares war on Bill of Rights, calls for American citizens to be disarmed or registered: http://www.prisonplanet.com/dianne-feinstein-declares-war-on-bill-of-rights-calls-for-american-citizens-to-be-disarmed-or-registered.html

[9] Feinstein Vows to Introduce Assault Weapons Ban Bill: http://www.prisonplanet.com/feinstein-vows-to-introduce-assault-weapons-ban-bill.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.