- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

Finance bill favors interests of unions, activists

Posted By admin On July 15, 2010 @ 8:50 am In U.S. News | Comments Disabled

Patrice Hill
Washington Times [1]
July 15, 2010

The financial reform bill expected to clear Congress this week is chock-full of provisions that have little to do with the financial crisis but cater to the long-standing agendas of labor unions and other Democratic interest groups.

Principal among them is a measure to make it easier for unions, environmental groups and other activist organizations that hold shares to put their representatives on the boards of directors of every corporation in the United States.

The so-called “proxy access” provision, which activist groups say they will use to try to improve oversight of corporate financial practices, has provoked a backlash from the Business Roundtable, U.S. Chamber of Commerce and other major non-Wall Street business groups.

“This legislation includes provisions totally unrelated to the financial crisis which may disrupt Americas fragile economic recovery” and lead to increasing political battles in the boardrooms, said John J. Castellani, president of the roundtable.

Full article here [1]

Finance bill favors interests of unions, activists 260310banner2 [2]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/finance-bill-favors-interests-of-unions-activists.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Washington Times: http://www.washingtontimes.com/news/2010/jul/14/finance-bill-favors-interests-of-unions-activists/

[2] Image: http://purewaterfreedom.com/

[3] Democrats and Establishment Unions Plan to Hijack OWS This Week: http://www.prisonplanet.com/democrats-and-establishment-unions-plan-to-hijack-ows-this-week.html

[4] Credit Unions Bailed Out: http://www.prisonplanet.com/credit-unions-bailed-out.html

[5] Wisconsin Assembly approves plan to curb unions: http://www.prisonplanet.com/wisconsin-assembly-approves-plan-to-curb-unions.html

[6] REAL Capitalists Move Our Money from Big Banks to Credit Unions: http://www.prisonplanet.com/real-capitalists-move-our-money-from-big-banks-to-credit-unions.html

[7] Ron Paul: Bailout Unconstitutional, Special Interests Forced Bill Through Congress: http://www.prisonplanet.com/ron-paul-bailout-unconstitutional-special-interests-forced-bill-through-congress.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.