- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

Fined £500k for not flying EU flag: Brussels penalises UK museums, firms and councils

Posted By admin On July 6, 2011 @ 3:51 am In Featured Stories,Prison Planet,Tile | Comments Disabled

JAMES CHAPMAN
UK Daily Mail [1]
July 6, 2011

Fines for failing to display the EU flag and logos should be scrapped, a government minister said yesterday.

Brussels has imposed financial penalties of almost £500,000 on councils, museums, universities, travel firms and business groups.

Each had breached rules that require display of EU symbols in return for grant money – a system Eric Pickles said was unfair.

‘It defies common sense that the EU can hammer public bodies with huge fines for merely not flying their flag,’ said the communities and local government secretary.

‘This is a prime example of bureaucracy taking over, with organisations being hit for the most minor breaches for over-complicated rules.

Full article here [1]

Fined £500k for not flying EU flag: Brussels penalises UK museums, firms and councils 030511banner3 [2]

Stock up with Fresh Food that lasts with eFoodsDirect (AD) [3]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/fined-500k-for-not-flying-eu-flag-brussels-penalises-uk-museums-firms-and-councils.html

URLs in this post:

[1] UK Daily Mail: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2011618/Brussels-penalises-UK-museums-firms-councils-500k-flying-EU-flag.html

[2] Image: http://www.stansberryresearch.com/pro/1103PSIEOAVD/PPSIM375/PR

[3] Stock up with Fresh Food that lasts with eFoodsDirect (AD): http://www.efoodsdirect.com/

[4] Business Owner Threatened with Jail Time for Flying American Flag: http://www.prisonplanet.com/business-owner-threatened-with-jail-time-for-flying-american-flag.html

[5] Arizona Man Fights to Keep Gadsden Flag Flying Outside His Home: http://www.prisonplanet.com/arizona-man-fights-to-keep-gadsden-flag-flying-outside-his-home.html

[6] Thanks To Obama, The Al-Qaeda Flag Is Now Flying High And Proud Over Libya: http://www.prisonplanet.com/thanks-to-obama-the-al-qaeda-flag-is-now-flying-high-and-proud-over-libya.html

[7] Navy vet faces eviction for flying Old Glory?: http://www.prisonplanet.com/navy-vet-faces-eviction-for-flying-old-glory.html

[8] New York town removes flag as ‘offensive’ Tea Party symbol: http://www.prisonplanet.com/new-york-town-removes-flag-as-%e2%80%98offensive%e2%80%99-tea-party-symbol.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.