- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

First Coke, Now Bloody Center – Government Feed-tervention Escalates

Posted By admin On December 10, 2012 @ 6:33 am In Prison Planet | Comments Disabled

Zero Hedge [1]
December 10, 2012

The personal freedom to indulge in 32 ounces of sugary corn-syrup-filled fizzy drinks left New Yorkers with a nasty libertarian taste in their mouths. Now, a few months later, as The Telegraph reports [2] that UK council officials are cracking down on the freedom to choose how your burger is done, warning restaurants not to offer them rare or even medium-rare. Of course, this is proposed to be in the best interests of the eating public focused on “making sure customers are eating meat that is a not a threat to their health.” This policy, set to the subject of a legal ruling shortly, leavs some to suggest it could destroy the gourmet burger industry (by mandating lengthy cooking times): “Not only that but you’re opening a Pandora’s box, because where do you finish? Steak tartare, runny eggs … the list is endless.” Soylent Green anyone?

Via The Telegraph:

Now council officials are cracking down on the freedom to choose how your burger is done, warning restaurants not to offer them rare or even medium-rare.

A number of celebrity chefs are affected by the move, including Gordon Ramsay, whose Maze Grill restaurant sells a burger for £12, Angela Hartnett, whose York and Albany’s bar menu includes burgers, and the Soho House chain, run by Nick Jones, the husband of broadcaster Kirsty Young.

All face being asked at their next routine inspection how they offer their burgers after the decision by Westminster city council, which regulates food safety in more restaurants than any other local authority.

The decision is expected to be followed by other councils, but critics fear it could lead to questions over the safety of rare steaks and raw meat dishes such as steak tartare.


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/first-coke-now-bloody-center-government-feed-tervention-escalates.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Zero Hedge: http://www.zerohedge.com/news/2012-12-09/first-coke-now-bloody-center-government-intervention-escalates

[2] The Telegraph reports: http://www.telegraph.co.uk/foodanddrink/foodanddrinknews/9731808/Why-the-rare-burger-may-soon-become-endangered.html

[3] Study: Fast Food Burgers Contain As Low as 2% Real Meat: http://www.prisonplanet.com/study-fast-food-burgers-contain-as-low-as-2-real-meat.html

[4] Disturbing: Burger King Admits Burgers Contain Horsemeat: http://www.prisonplanet.com/disturbing-burger-king-admits-burgers-contain-horsemeat.html

[5] Red meat is blamed for one in 10 early deaths: http://www.prisonplanet.com/red-meat-is-blamed-for-one-in-10-early-deaths.html

[6] Donkey meat in South African burgers: http://www.prisonplanet.com/donkey-meat-in-south-african-burgers.html

[7] Feed Me, Obama, Feed Me: The Plan for Food Dependency: http://www.prisonplanet.com/feed-me-obama-feed-me-the-plan-for-food-dependency.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.