- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

First U.S. scientist to die of plague in 50 years worked in labs with ‘harmless’ bacteria

Posted By admin On February 27, 2011 @ 9:41 am In Sci Tech | Comments Disabled

UK Daily Mail [1]
Feb 27, 2011

A scientist died after becoming the first American researcher to contract the plague in 50 years, it has been revealed.

Malcolm Casadaban, 60, was working with a weakened form of the plague’s bacteria¬† thought to be harmless to humans when he died in September 2009, a report said.

The University of Chicago genetics and cell biology professor’s work with the live bacteria was not even noted when he fell ill and he followed proper safety protocols.

Dr Casadaban was researching the chain of events that happens when a person is made sick by the bacteria Yersinia Pestis, which are behind the plague.

The bubonic plague, which killed at least a third of the population of medieval Europe in the 14th century, still infects more than 2,000 people annually worldwide today.

Full article here [1]

Stock up with Fresh Food that lasts with eFoodsDirect (AD) [2]

First U.S. scientist to die of plague in 50 years worked in labs with harmless bacteria  260310banner2 [3]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/first-u-s-scientist-to-die-of-plague-in-50-years-worked-in-labs-with-harmless-bacteria.html

URLs in this post:

[1] UK Daily Mail: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/article-1360783/Malcolm-Casadaban-U-S-scientist-die-plague-50-years.html

[2] Stock up with Fresh Food that lasts with eFoodsDirect (AD): http://www.efoodsdirect.com/

[3] Image: http://purewaterfreedom.com/

[4] Plague-Infested Mice Missing From New Jersey Research Lab: http://www.prisonplanet.com/plague-infested-mice-missing-from-new-jersey-research-lab.html

[5] Chinese Town Sealed Off After Plague Outbreak: http://www.prisonplanet.com/chinese-town-sealed-off-after-plague-outbreak.html

[6] Scientists discover 21st century black plague that spreads from rats to humans: http://www.prisonplanet.com/scientists-discover-21st-century-black-plague-that-spreads-from-rats-to-humans.html

[7] Pneumonic Plague Drill Held in Illinois: http://www.prisonplanet.com/pneumonic-plague-drill-held-in-illinois.html

[8] US ‘used plague bomb’ in Korea War: http://www.prisonplanet.com/us-used-plague-bomb-in-korea-war.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.