- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

From Military-Industrial Complex to Permanent War State

Posted By admin On January 19, 2011 @ 8:18 am In Commentary | Comments Disabled

GARETH PORTER
Counterpunch [1]
Jan 19, 2011

Fifty years after Dwight D. Eisenhower’s January 17, 1961 speech on the “military-industrial complex”, that threat has morphed into a far more powerful and sinister force than Eisenhower could have imagined.  It has become a “Permanent War State”, with the power to keep the United States at war continuously for the indefinite future.

But despite their seeming invulnerability, the vested interests behind U.S. militarism have been seriously shaken twice in the past four decades by some combination of public revulsion against a major war, opposition to high military spending, serious concern about the budget deficit and a change in perception of the external threat.  Today, the Permanent War State faces the first three of those dangers to its power simultaneously — and in a larger context of the worst economic crisis since the great depression.

When Eisenhower warned in this farewell address of the “potential” for the “disastrous rise of misplaced power”, he was referring to the danger that militarist interests would gain control over the country’s national security policy. The only reason it didn’t happen on Ike’s watch is that he stood up to the military and its allies.

Stock up with Fresh Food that lasts with eFoodsDirect [2]

From Military Industrial Complex to Permanent War State 101210banner4 [3]

The Air Force and the Army were so unhappy with his “New Look” military policy that they each waged political campaigns against it. The Army demanded that Ike reverse his budget cuts and beef up conventional forces. The Air Force twice fabricated intelligence to support its claim that the Soviet Union was rapidly overtaking the United States in strategic striking power — first in bombers, later in ballistic missiles.

But Ike defied both services, reducing Army manpower by 44 percent from its1953 level and refusing to order a crash program for bombers or for missiles.  He also rejected military recommendations for war in Indochina, bombing attacks on China and an ultimatum to the Soviet Union.

Full article here [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/from-military-industrial-complex-to-permanent-war-state.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Counterpunch: http://counterpunch.org/porter01182011.html

[2] Stock up with Fresh Food that lasts with eFoodsDirect: http://www.efoodsdirect.com/

[3] Image: http://www.stansberryresearch.com/pro/1011PSIENDVD/PPSILC35/PR

[4] The Military-Industrial Complex: It’s Much Later Than You Think: http://www.prisonplanet.com/the-military-industrial-complex-it%e2%80%99s-much-later-than-you-think.html

[5] More Blank Checks to the Military Industrial Complex: http://www.prisonplanet.com/more-blank-checks-to-the-military-industrial-complex.html

[6] Invisible Empire Sneak Peek #3 — The Military Industrial Complex: http://www.prisonplanet.com/invisible-empire-sneak-peek-3-%e2%80%94-the-military-industrial-complex.html

[7] One Nation Under….The Military-Industrial Complex: http://www.prisonplanet.com/one-nation-under-the-military-industrial-complex.html

[8] Super Congress: Easy Prey for the Military-Industrial Complex: http://www.prisonplanet.com/super-congress-easy-prey-for-the-military-industrial-complex.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.