- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

FTC floats Drudge tax

Posted By admin On June 5, 2010 @ 5:28 am In Featured Stories,Prison Planet | Comments Disabled

Washington Times [1]
June 5, 2010

The Federal Trade Commission (FTC) is seeking ways to “reinvent” journalism, and that’s a cause for concern. According to a May 24 draft proposal, the agency thinks government should be at the center of a media overhaul. The bureaucracy sees it as a problem that the Internet has introduced a wealth of information options to consumers, forcing media companies to adapt and experiment to meet changing market needs. FTC’s policy staff fears this new reality.

“There are reasons for concern that experimentation may not produce a robust and sustainable business model for commercial journalism,” the report states. With no faith that the market will work things out for the better, government thinks it must come to the rescue.

The ideas being batted around to save the industry share a common theme: They are designed to empower bureaucrats, not consumers. For instance, one proposal would, “Allow news organizations to agree jointly on a mechanism to require news aggregators and others to pay for the use of online content, perhaps through the use of copyright licenses.”

In other words, government policy would encourage a tax on websites like the Drudge Report, a must-read source for the news links of the day, so that the agency can redistribute the funds collected to various newspapers. Such a tax would hit other news aggregators, such as Digg, Fark and Reddit, which not only gather links, but provide a forum for a lively and entertaining discussion of the issues raised by the stories. Fostering a robust public-policy debate, not saving a particular business model, should be the goal of journalism in the first place.

Full article here [1]

FTC floats Drudge tax 150410banner1 [2]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/ftc-floats-drudge-tax.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Washington Times: http://www.washingtontimes.com/news/2010/jun/4/ftc-floats-drudge-tax/

[2] Image: http://infowars-shop.stores.yahoo.net/inemnewwoord.html

[3] Germany proposes a Drudge Tax: http://www.prisonplanet.com/germany-proposes-a-drudge-tax.html

[4] FTC dodges Drudge Tax questions: http://www.prisonplanet.com/ftc-dodges-drudge-tax-questions.html

[5] FTC Backs Off Drudge Tax: http://www.prisonplanet.com/ftc-backs-off-drudge-tax.html

[6] UK Government Floats Carbon Tax: http://www.prisonplanet.com/uk-government-floats-carbon-tax-to-pay-for-green-energy.html

[7] Drudge Fought The TSA….And Drudge Won: http://www.prisonplanet.com/drudge-fought-the-tsa-and-drudge-won.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.