- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

Fury at U.S. Lehman Brothers’ staff who could net £1.4bn in bonuses as UK employees face bleak future

Posted By admin On September 22, 2008 @ 3:54 am In Money Watch | Comments Disabled

UK Daily Mail [1]
Monday, Sept 22, 2008

Lehman Brothers staff could enjoy bonuses worth more than a billion pounds despite the investment bank’s collapse.

The rewards lined up for U.S. workers caused fury in London, where thousands of employees are facing a bleak future after Lehman filed for bankruptcy.

Administrators winding up Lehman’s European business have discovered £4.4billion was transferred to New York just before the bank collapsed.

(Article continues below)

PricewaterhouseCoopers want the money to be returned – a call which was backed by Gordon Brown.

The blockbuster bonuses for U.S. staff were secured after UK lender Barclays snapped up Lehman’s American operations and took on 10,000 employees.

As part of the deal, a $2.5billion (£1.4billion) bonus pot was ringfenced to reward the U.S. workers.

The agreement was greeted with incredulity on this side of the Atlantic given the disastrous consequences of Lehman’s speculation on ‘toxic’ debt.

Full article here [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/fury-at-us-lehman-brothers-staff-who-could-net-14bn-in-bonuses-as-uk-employees-face-bleak-future.html

URLs in this post:

[1] UK Daily Mail: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1059234/Fury-U-S-Lehman-Brothers-staff-net-1-4bn-bonuses-UK-employees-face-bleak-future.html

[2] Collapsed Lehman pays out big bonuses: http://www.prisonplanet.com/collapsed-lehman-pays-out-big-bonuses.html

[3] Royal Bank of Scotland to pay staff £1 billion in bonuses: http://www.prisonplanet.com/royal-bank-of-scotland-to-pay-staff-1-billion-in-bonuses.html

[4] Goldmine Sachs: Bank’s bonuses cut to a ‘mere’ £142,000 EACH: http://www.prisonplanet.com/goldmine-sachs-banks-bonuses-cut-to-a-mere-142000-each.html

[5] Workers at GM, Ford to Score Nice Bonuses This Year Read more: Workers at GM, Ford to Score Nice Bonuses This Year: http://www.prisonplanet.com/workers-at-gm-ford-to-score-nice-bonuses-this-year-read-more-workers-at-gm-ford-to-score-nice-bonuses-this-year.html

[6] Lehman Brothers Revisited: http://www.prisonplanet.com/lehman-brothers-revisited.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.