- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

Gold Advances Most in a Week on U.S. Government Shutdown Concern

Posted By admin On October 14, 2013 @ 11:19 am In Money Watch,Tile | Comments Disabled

Debarati Roy & Nicholas Larkin
Bloomberg [1]
October 14, 2013

Gold advanced the most in a week as U.S. lawmakers struggled to reach an accord on raising the nation’s debt limit, increasing demand for the precious metal as a haven.

With the U.S.’s borrowing authority set to lapse Oct. 17, Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid said yesterday that he had a “productive conversation” with Minority Leader Mitch McConnell, without reaching a conclusion on a plan to send to the chamber for a vote. Bullion dropped to a three-month low last week on speculation that the lawmakers would reach an agreement to raise the debt ceiling and end a government shutdown.

“Demand for gold is on the rise as it’s not apparent anymore that the parties will reach an agreement before the deadline,” Bart Melek, the head of commodity strategy at TD Securities in Toronto, said in a telephone interview.

Gold futures for December delivery added 1.1 percent to $1,282.60 at 9:40 a.m. on the Comex in New York, heading for the biggest jump for a most-active contract since Oct. 7. Trading was 26 percent below the average for the past 100 days for this time of day, data compiled by Bloomberg showed.

Full article here [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/gold-advances-most-in-a-week-on-u-s-government-shutdown-concern.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Bloomberg: http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2013-10-13/gold-rebounds-from-three-month-low-as-u-s-debt-talks-drag-on.html

[2] Gold Gains on Middle East Unrest, Inflation; Silver Advances: http://www.prisonplanet.com/gold-gains-on-middle-east-unrest-inflation-silver-advances.html

[3] Gold Is Expected To Keep Rising This Week: http://www.prisonplanet.com/gold-is-expected-to-keep-rising-this-week.html

[4] Gold Rises to 18-Month High on Inflation Concern, Weaker Dollar: http://www.prisonplanet.com/gold-rises-to-18-month-high-on-inflation-concern-weaker-dollar.html

[5] Gold Advances in London as Dollar Drops, Crude Oil Strengthens: http://www.prisonplanet.com/gold-advances-in-london-as-dollar-drops-crude-oil-strengthens.html

[6] Gold Hits Record as ‘Go-to Asset’ Amid Debt Stalemate: http://www.prisonplanet.com/gold-hits-record-as-%e2%80%98go-to-asset%e2%80%99-amid-debt-stalemate.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.