- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

Gold prices ‘could double’ over the next few years

Posted By admin On December 17, 2008 @ 5:04 am In Featured Stories | Comments Disabled

Bullion Vault [1]
Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008

A senior figure at the investment arm of Commerzbank has claimed today (December 16th) that gold prices could double in the next three to five years, Reuters reports.

It has been widely reported in recent weeks that gold would struggle as a period of deflation sets in, but the dollar – which tracks in the opposite direction to the yellow metal – is on the slide.

Now Edward Hands, a portfolio manager for the corporates and markets division of Germany’s second-largest bank, has explained that the fiscal and monetary stimuli currently taking place mean that “it would be prudent to have some exposure to gold”.

He told the news provider: “The purpose of the stimulus is to reduce the debt burden. The easiest way to reduce debt is through inflation, achieved primarily through currency depreciation.

(ARTICLE CONTINUES BELOW)

Gold prices could double over the next few years 121208banner3 [2]

“Certainly over the course of three, four, five years, you could see the gold price double quite easily.”

Mr Hands’ view that prices could double from the current level of around $830 per ounce was strongly corroborated recently by Citibank, the second-largest financial institution in the US.

Chief technical strategist Tom Fitzpatrick explained earlier this month that the group sees gold as being on a strong bull run and that prices could even break the $2,000 per ounce barrier next year.

“We continue to believe that a move of similar percentage to that seen in the 1976-1980 bull market can be seen, which would suggest a price north of $2,000,” he commented.

To Buy Gold today, avoiding wide spreads and storage costs – but still owning your physical Gold Bullion Investment outright with full legal title – be sure to visit BullionVault and claim a free gram of gold now…


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/gold-prices-could-double-over-the-next-few-years.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Bullion Vault: http://goldnews.bullionvault.com/Goldbug/gold_price/gold_prices_could_double_over_the_next_few_years_18932485

[2] Image: http://www.efoodsdirect.com/products.html

[3] Jim Rogers: Gold Price to Double in Coming Months: http://www.prisonplanet.com/jim-rogers-gold-price-to-double-in-coming-months.html

[4] Gold Off Charts as Prices Heading ’Parabolic’: http://www.prisonplanet.com/gold-off-charts-as-prices-heading-%e2%80%99parabolic%e2%80%99.html

[5] Kiener: Gold Prices To Double On Paper Market Default: http://www.prisonplanet.com/kiener-gold-prices-to-double-on-paper-market-default.html

[6] IMF warns that oil prices could double in ten years: http://www.prisonplanet.com/imf-warns-that-oil-prices-could-double-in-ten-years.html

[7] Central Banks Net Buyers of Gold for 1st Time in 20 Years: http://www.prisonplanet.com/central-banks-net-buyers-of-gold-for-1st-time-in-20-years.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.