- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

Goldman Sachs facing a new insider trading probe

Posted By admin On April 20, 2012 @ 7:09 am In Money Watch | Comments Disabled

Emily Flitter
Reuters [1]
April 20, 2012

Federal prosecutors in California are investigating a Goldman Sachs employee for insider trading, according to prosecutors and defense lawyers who attended a hearing in U.S. federal court in New York on Thursday.

The employee is suspected of giving inside information on two public companies to former Galleon Group co-founder Raj Rajaratnam, who was convicted last year in one of the largest insider trading cases in Wall Street history.

The investigation of the Goldman employee was divulged during a hearing involving the insider trading case against former Goldman board member Rajat Gupta.

Gary Naftalis, the lawyer for Gupta, commenting on the newly disclosed investigation, said that Assistant US Attorney Reed Brodsky asked him not divulge details of the matter.

Full article here [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/goldman-sachs-facing-a-new-insider-trading-probe.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Reuters: http://www.reuters.com/article/2012/04/19/us-usa-crime-goldman-idUSBRE83I1GQ20120419

[2] Largest-ever insider trading probe targets Goldman Sachs: http://www.prisonplanet.com/largest-ever-insider-trading-probe-targets-goldman-sachs.html

[3] Insider-Trading Probe Reinforces Belief Market is Rigged: http://www.prisonplanet.com/insider-trading-probe-reinforces-belief-market-is-rigged.html

[4] Criminal Probe Launched Into Goldman Sachs: http://www.prisonplanet.com/criminal-probe-launched-into-goldman-sachs.html

[5] Soros Loses French Insider-Trading Appeal: http://www.prisonplanet.com/soros-loses-french-insider-trading-appeal.html

[6] SEC: We Can Prosecute Congressmen For Insider Trading: http://www.prisonplanet.com/sec-we-can-prosecute-congressmen-for-insider-trading.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.