- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

Government may use Facebook, Twitter for terror alerts

Posted By admin On April 8, 2011 @ 5:43 am In Prison Planet | Comments Disabled

Hayley Tsukayama
Washington Post [1]
April 8, 2011

The Department of Homeland Security is planning to tap social networks such as Facebook and Twitter to help spread the word in the event of a terror attack, the Associated Press reported Thursday [2].

In a draft of a plan obtained by AP, DHS says it may turn to social networks to spread news about new terror alerts “when appropriate,” after notifying local, state and federal officials.

The plan is expected to go into effect on April 27 and will replace the government’s current color-coded rubric with a two-tier warning system. “Elevated” alerts would be issued when there is a credible threat against the United States. An “imminent alert” would indicated a credible, specific and impending terrorist threat or on-going attack. According to the draft, each warning would have an expiration date.

Stock up with Fresh Food that lasts with eFoodsDirect (AD) [3]

Government may use Facebook, Twitter for terror alerts  260310banner2 [4]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/government-may-use-facebook-twitter-for-terror-alerts.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Washington Post: http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/faster-forward/post/government-may-use-facebook-twitter-for-terror-alerts/2011/04/07/AFroqDwC_blog.html?hpid=z2

[2] Associated Press reported Thursday: http://www.washingtonpost.com/politics/ap-exclusive-us-govt-may-use-facebook-twitter-to-announce-new-terrorism-warnings-to-public/2011/04/07/AFLzEjuC_story.html

[3] Stock up with Fresh Food that lasts with eFoodsDirect (AD): http://www.efoodsdirect.com/

[4] Image: http://purewaterfreedom.com/

[5] Fear-based Terror Alerts to Become Mandatory On Cell Phones: http://www.prisonplanet.com/fear-based-terror-alerts-to-become-mandatory-on-cell-phones.html

[6] Government Fearmongering Alerts to Go Live Thursday: http://www.prisonplanet.com/government-fearmongering-alerts-to-go-live-thursday.html

[7] Apple’s iOS 6 Includes ‘Government Alerts’: http://www.prisonplanet.com/apples-ios-6-includes-government-alerts.html

[8] Get Ready for Endless Bogus Terror Alerts: http://www.prisonplanet.com/get-ready-for-endless-bogus-terror-alerts.html

[9] Facebook and Twitter to oppose calls for social media blocks during riots: http://www.prisonplanet.com/facebook-and-twitter-to-oppose-calls-for-social-media-blocks-during-riots.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.