- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

Government Wants “Panic” To Push Through Debt Hike

Posted By admin On July 30, 2011 @ 11:10 am In Featured Stories,Tile | Comments Disabled

Washington Is Annoyed at Wall Street’s Failure to Panic

John Carney
CNBC [1]
Saturday, July 30, 2011

I just got off the phone with a source on Capitol Hill who has spent the past few days trying to convince Republicans to vote for a debt ceiling hike.

He told me that the biggest obstacle he faces has been “market complacency.”

“Frankly, a bit of panic would be very helpful right now,” he said.

As he explained it, lots of people in Washington, D.C. expected that this would be a week marked by panic in the markets. Stocks would tank. Bonds would get clobbered. The dollar would do something dramatic. And all of this would help convince reluctant lawmakers that they had to reach a compromise on the debt ceiling.

Full story here. [1]

FLASHBACK: Obama Strikes Fear Into Americans While Reassuring Big Banks [2]

FLASHBACK: Obama Walkout Linked To Debt Panic Ploy? [3]

FLASHBACK: Paulson Was Behind Bailout Martial Law Threat [4]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/government-wants-panic-to-push-through-debt-hike.html

URLs in this post:

[1] CNBC: http://www.cnbc.com/id/43943482

[2] Obama Strikes Fear Into Americans While Reassuring Big Banks: http://www.prisonplanet.com../obama-strikes-fear-into-americans-while-reassuring-big-banks.html

[3] Obama Walkout Linked To Debt Panic Ploy?: http://www.prisonplanet.com../obama-walkout-linked-to-debt-panic-ploy.html

[4] Paulson Was Behind Bailout Martial Law Threat: http://www.prisonplanet.com../paulson-was-behind-bailout-martial-law-threat.html

[5] Senator: Obama Creating Panic To Push Through Debt Hike: http://www.prisonplanet.com/senator-obama-creating-panic-to-push-through-debt-hike.html

[6] This Time The Debt Ceiling Hike Really Is Different: http://www.prisonplanet.com/this-time-the-debt-ceiling-hike-really-is-different.html

[7] US Adds $120 Billion In Debt Since Debt Ceiling Hike On Friday, $310 Billion More On Deck In Next Two Months: http://www.prisonplanet.com/us-adds-120-billion-in-debt-since-debt-ceiling-hike-on-friday-310-billion-more-on-deck-in-next-two-months.html

[8] The Imminent $2.5 Trillion Debt Ceiling Hike Will Unleash A Gold Price Surge To $1,950 And Higher: http://www.prisonplanet.com/the-imminent-2-5-trillion-debt-ceiling-hike-will-unleash-a-gold-price-surge-to-1950-and-higher.html

[9] Obama Walkout Linked To Debt Panic Ploy?: http://www.prisonplanet.com/obama-walkout-linked-to-debt-panic-ploy.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.