- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

Greenspan: I’m ‘Shocked’ At Breakdown in Credit

Posted By admin On October 23, 2008 @ 9:28 am In Money Watch | Comments Disabled

CNN [1]
Thursday, October 23, 2008

Former Federal Reserve Chairman Alan Greenspan told Congress on Thursday he is “shocked” at the breakdown in U.S. credit markets and that he sees more layoffs and a jump in unemployment ahead.
In prepared testimony, Greenspan said the current global financial crisis is a “once in a century credit tsunami” that policymakers did not anticipate.

Greenspan was to be the leadoff witness at a House hearing lawmakers called to question past key financial players about what they felt caused the most grave financial crisis since the 1930s.

The witnesses were also expected to be asked how they thought the government would deliver the nation from the economic turmoil.

(ARTICLE CONTINUES BELOW)

Greenspan: Im Shocked At Breakdown in Credit 161008pptv3 [2]

Greenspan was the chairman of the Federal Reserve for 18 1/2 years. In testimony prepared for the House Government Oversight and Reform Committee, he voiced shock over the present turn of events and called conditions deplorable.

FULL STORY CLICK HERE [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/greenspan-im-shocked-at-breakdown-in-credit.html

URLs in this post:

[1] CNN: http://www.cnbc.com/id/27337369

[2] Image: http://www.prisonplanet.tv/subscribe.html

[3] Poll finds Alan Greenspan to blame for credit crisis: http://www.prisonplanet.com/poll-finds-alan-greenspan-to-blame-for-credit-crisis.html

[4] No Chance of Default, US Can Print Money: Greenspan: http://www.prisonplanet.com/no-chance-of-default-us-can-print-money-greenspan.html

[5] Fed’s Massive Stimulus Had Little Impact: Greenspan: http://www.prisonplanet.com/feds-massive-stimulus-had-little-impact-greenspan.html

[6] Greenspan: Fed Didn’t Cause the Housing Bubble: http://www.prisonplanet.com/greenspan-fed-didnt-cause-the-housing-bubble.html

[7] Greenspan: South Must Follow North for Euro to Survive: http://www.prisonplanet.com/greenspan-south-must-follow-north-for-euro-to-survive.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.