- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

Groups Sue U.S. for Data On Tracking By Cellphone

Posted By admin On July 2, 2008 @ 2:36 pm In Sci Tech | Comments Disabled

Ellen Nakashima
Washington Post [1]
Wednesday, July 2, 2008

Two civil liberties groups filed a lawsuit against the U.S. government yesterday, seeking records related to the government’s use of cellphones as tracking devices.

The American Civil Liberties Union [2] and the Electronic Frontier Foundation [3] sued the government in federal court in Washington under the Freedom of Information Act. Last November, the ACLU had filed a FOIA request with the Justice Department [4] for documents, memos and guides regarding the policies for tracking people through the use of their cellphones.

The groups also want to know how many times the government sought location information without first establishing probable cause that a crime was taking place.

(Article continues below)

Justice Department spokesman Dean Boyd [5] declined to comment on the suit. But with respect to cell-tracking data in general, he said, “It is important to remember that the courts determine whether or not cell-site data or more precise cell location data can be turned over to law enforcement in a particular case.”

Boyd added that “law enforcement has absolutely no interest in tracking the locations of law-abiding citizens. Instead, law enforcement goes through the courts to lawfully obtain data to help locate criminal suspects, sometimes in cases where lives are literally hanging in the balance, such as a child abduction case or a serial murderer on the loose.”

Full article here. [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/groups-sue-us-for-data-on-tracking-by-cellphone.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Washington Post: http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2008/07/01/AR2008070102884_pf.html

[2] American Civil Liberties Union: http://www.washingtonpost.com/ac2/related/topic/American+Civil+Liberties+Union?tid=informline

[3] Electronic Frontier Foundation: http://www.washingtonpost.com/ac2/related/topic/Electronic+Frontier+Foundation?tid=informline

[4] Justice Department: http://www.washingtonpost.com/ac2/related/topic/U.S.+Department+of+Justice?tid=informline

[5] Dean Boyd: http://www.washingtonpost.com/ac2/related/topic/Dean+Boyd?tid=informline

[6] Bank To Spy On Customers Via Cellphone Location Tracking: http://www.prisonplanet.com/bank-to-spy-on-customers-via-cellphone-location-tracking.html

[7] Police Are Using Phone Tracking as a Routine Tool: http://www.prisonplanet.com/police-are-using-phone-tracking-as-a-routine-tool.html

[8] NSA Lawyer Questioned Over Cellphone Location Tracking of Americans: http://www.prisonplanet.com/nsa-lawyer-questioned-over-cellphone-location-tracking-of-americans.html

[9] Your Cellphone Has Been Tracking You For Nearly a Decade: http://www.prisonplanet.com/your-cellphone-has-been-tracking-you-for-nearly-a-decade.html

[10] Warrantless Cellphone Tracking Is Upheld: http://www.prisonplanet.com/warrantless-cellphone-tracking-is-upheld.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.