- Prison Planet.com - http://www.prisonplanet.com -

HHS Buys $2.5 Million Worth of IT Equipment for Obamacare’s Final Enrollment Month

Posted By admin On March 11, 2014 @ 11:22 am In Money Watch | Comments Disabled

Elizabeth Harrington
Washington Free Beacon [1]
March 11, 2014

The Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) ordered $2.5 million worth of IT equipment to prepare for “anticipated traffic” during the last month of open enrollment on Healthcare.gov, according to contract documents released on Thursday.

The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) announced additional changes to its contract with Verizon Terremark, which is responsible for the cloud computing software that exchanges information on the Obamacare data hub.

CMS has already awarded [2] $59.9 million to the company. The agency initially estimated the cost for Terremark’s IT support at $10.8 million, but has since altered the contract 15 times.

The latest three changes came last month. They added more IT infrastructure in “preparation of anticipated traffic” for the open enrollment deadline on March 31.

Full article here [1]


Article printed from Prison Planet.com: http://www.prisonplanet.com

URL to article: http://www.prisonplanet.com/hhs-buys-2-5-million-worth-of-it-equipment-for-obamacares-final-enrollment-month.html

URLs in this post:

[1] Washington Free Beacon: http://freebeacon.com/hhs-buys-2-5-million-worth-of-it-equipment-for-obamacares-final-enrollment-month/

[2] already awarded: http://freebeacon.com/costs-in-the-clouds/

[3] Low Healthcare Enrollment May Indicate ObamaCare in Trouble: http://www.prisonplanet.com/low-healthcare-enrollment-may-indicate-obamacare-in-trouble.html

[4] Obamacare Website Enrollment 90% Below Government Expectations: http://www.prisonplanet.com/obamacare-website-enrollment-90-below-government-expectations.html

[5] America stunned as Sebelius explains still no ‘reliable’ data on Obamacare enrollment numbers: http://www.prisonplanet.com/america-stunned-as-sebelius-explains-still-no-reliable-data-on-obamacare-enrollment-numbers.html

[6] 45 States Still Haven’t Hit 10% of Enrollment Goals for Obamacare: http://www.prisonplanet.com/45-states-still-havent-hit-10-of-enrollment-goals-for-obamacare.html

[7] Cost Of Obamacare Contract Has At Least Quintupled: http://www.prisonplanet.com/cost-of-obamacare-contract-has-at-least-quintupled.html

Copyright © 2013 PrisonPlanet.com. All rights reserved.